Blueberry Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I paid attention to previous reviewers and ended up with a very nice looking and tasty cake. I used fresh berries because I had some on hand, omitted the almond extract and used fresh lemon juice for a brighter flavor. And I used a 9 inch professional cake pan. I did not end up with a gooey burnt mess in my nice recently cleaned oven and the cake came out of the pan beautifully. The only thing I will change next time I will use fresh frozen berries as they keep their shape better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
It was dry. It cooked in less than 55 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thursty9
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Baked the blueberries in the cake so the final product wasn't so soggy. Still tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thursty9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Was very happy with this recipe. I didn't have any lemon, so used lime zest. And used vanilla extract instead of almond, cause of what I had in my pantry. It turned out fantastic. It cooked in 70 min and was moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was so great. It came out really well with frozen blueberries. I'll have to try making it with fresh sometime. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Very nice cake! I even read the recipe wrong and kinda did my steps out of order and it was still perfect! lol! I did double the almond extract because I love almond and I added a bit more zest. Would recommend and will certainly make again...absolutely terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILIBEAN2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I made no changes in this recipe, and it came out perfectly. The blueberry lemon flavor combination was very nice. The only issue (and it is minor), was that the almond extract flavor was pretty much undetectable. I might consider cutting back on the lemon zest in the cake to let more of the almond flavor come through. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I had some frozen berries I needed to use up and wanted to make a upsidedown cake which lead me here. Normally I do not find it worth the effort to make cake from scatch but this was truely amazing. I had to double this recipe as I found there did not look to be enough for a good size cake. I used self rising cake flour and OMG! The best, moistest cake I ecer made. I used sweetener ( both brown and white) and my husband and brother went back for seconds and thirds and didn't even know the difference. This was increduble served hot with PC Vanilla Bourbon ice cream. Blueberry season is upon us here in the north and I will be making many more of these cakes. I think I will even try this as individual muffins. Yumm Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by screamingwallflower

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefIbrahim
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was a huge hit at my nephew's birthday party. I'm not a huge fan of almond so I'd make it without next time. Also, the sugar mixed with the blueberries collapsed the top of the cake, so I'd probably cut the amount in half. Definitely going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Over all this was a nice tasting cake the blueberry and lemon really shine through. I did omit the almond extract and added lemon juice in its place. I also used half and half instead of milk. I did not have a problem with it being dry but it is dense and the crumb is very coarse. I'm thinking some additional butter or perhaps some oil would lighten it up a bit. I did use frozen berries which were nice but next time I think I will use less flour and sugar as the topping was very very thick as others mentioned. I love the idea of this cake and I am going to try it again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States