Blueberry Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
so I grow my own blueberries and they are very tart. I tried a couple of versions of this and have found that for me the best is to cook the blueberries first with enough sugar to sweeten them adequately. When I just used blueberries straight with the sugar on top they always fell out. This way it is really easy to roll up and is so much more consistent on taste and texture. I also loved the other reviewer's idea of adding some cream cheese so I spread a little whipped cream cheese on the dough before adding the blueberries. Cook as directed and drizzle some confectioners sugar icing on top when they are done. Out of this world delicious!! I will be making it as long as my blueberries last!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Made these last night. They were oh so good! And so simple to make! I used fresh blueberries I had in the fridge! Even though the recipe says vanilla frosting optional, I recommend a homemade vanilla glaze! Made one I found on this website and it made the turnovers even better! Will definitely make these again and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
OK, So I had Easter morning house guests and crescent rolls. Saw this recipe and substituted chopped fresh strawberries and mini choc chips. No frosting, just a dusting of granulated sugar. They were excellent, but not close to the recipe posted her. If I had blueberries I would have tried that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
So easy and fast to make, and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
What a good idea! This deserves five stars for as fast and simple it is and tastes good besides! I used cinnamon and sugar on the berries, then sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top. I also want to try spreading cream cheese and jam instead of the berries before rolling up sometime. Great with brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I've made these twice. Everyone loves them. I use the bigger crescent rolls so I can add more blueberries. Also use a vanilla glaze recipe I found on this site. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grave Flower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunlap, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Pretty good for a quick and easy treat if you have some fresh blueberries. Not flaky and dough is not sweet, but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I used more sugar than called for but didn't measure and it worked perfectly! I have very tart and juicy organic blueberries though. I also added a couple pinches of nutmeg and a teaspoon or two of cinnamon. No measurements since I made these with a couple of toddlers :). After they cooked, we made a creamy topping of butter, powdered sugar, and Tahitian vanilla paste. They were so good that the two boys (Ages 2 and 5) were trying to steal one anothers' rolls because they had eaten the whole pan full! The 5 year old kept saying "They are even yummier with the sauce on them!" needless to say, these will be made again:) They are super easy, very kid-friendly, and a quick make, bake, and cleanup. Not to mention, Beautiful! we dusted the tops of them with cinnamon for looks and it was incredible! Can't approve this recipe enough!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hodgenville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Five stars for an easy recipe using crescent rolls. If you expect a top of the line pastry, dont bake with crescent rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Made these this morning, they were absolutely delicious. The only issue I had was putting them together, eventually I did it and they pretty much didn't over flow. So they weren't a mess. Made a vanilla glaze, yummy!!! Will make again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States