Blueberry Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Very nice topping. Will use this recipe again. Mashed the berries but did not discard anything - goes against the grain to throw good food out and besides, we like a sauce with texture. Added cornstarch as I don't like a watery sauce. I note the recipe's author acknowledges the need for cornstarch to thicken the sauce - is there no way to amend a recipe once its published?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
As the person who posted this recipe, I've found, after some reviews, that you do need to add cornstarch to this recipe. I would say probably 1 tablespoon per cup of water. Thank you for the reviews and improving on this recipe over the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corralitos, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I dunno if I did something wrong but this came out wayyyyy to watery, I used half the water recomended and it was still more like a liquid than a sauce or topping. it did taste VERY good though, I still poured it on my cheescake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Excellent topping. I used strawberries instead and it turned out fabulous. I added some constarch, as others had suggested. We used it over pound cake and vanilla ice cream...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XmasBeba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Did great needed a bit of cornstarch or arrowroot to thicken but a good mixture and procedure. Chef Robear
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Hill (RULN)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
Great recipe, easy to make with strawberries. If you alter the number of servings, don't add 4 cups of water in the second step. I had to use cornstarch to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
This was very good, I did add some cornstarch to thicken it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe to top off Angel Food cake with. I substituted orange rind for the lemon rind, and apple/white grape juice for the lemon juice. I did not strain the pulp because I wanted to retain the fiber. I will save this recipe and use it again, perhaps as written next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Delicious and easy! Great for topping off any kind of breakfast, including toast, waffles, and pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States