Blueberry Stuffed French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I did take the advice of another review and cubed the bottom layer of bread as well as the cream cheese. It was a lot easier then spreading the cream cheese on bread slices. I also omitted the sugar with the main dish. The maple syrup was sweet enough. Added cinnamon to my liking. Worked great with gluten free bread, though I did cook a bit longer because it still seemed soggy after 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This is delicious all tho I forgot and didn't make it the nite before I just let it set for an hour before I baked it and it turned out great. Also my husband (who doesn't like it when I experiment) thought it was great, I gave this a 10++ in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Very good recipe without to much fuss, my family enjoyed it. I too made a few changes: I discovered I had run out of white sugar so I used brown sugar in the wet mixture and also as the topping except with cinnamon instead of nutmeg. I used a small baguette cut into slices as the bread covering the bottom then pulling apart the cheese into chunks and scattering over the layer of sliced bread which made for nice warm chunks of cheese to bite into after baking. I used strawberries instead of blueberries. I baked at 450 instaed of the 350 for about 30 mins and it cooked perfectly. I was originally going to try to make the compote using powdered sugar but opted to not make it after all. I used syrup over the top for the kids whereas my hubby and I opted for no topping at all as it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyTo4QTs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I made this for my office monthly breakfast birthday party. It was a great success. I used mascarpone instead of cream cheese. Also i agree that you have to cook this for almost an hour instead of the 20-30 min per directions. I also cook at 375. I toasted the bread cubes on top and used raw sugar and added 1/2 tea of cinnamon in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I thought it was delicious! My only complaint was that my kids didn't like it. Not sure what the heck is wrong with them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalynn505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
General recipe was good. Took a tip from another reviewer and baked at 400 deg. for 30 min. Added cinnamon and sugar over bread. Also added a little more berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I was very disappointed in this recipe. I fixed it for my family recently, expecting everyone to love it. However, by following the instructions, even baking it for almost twice as long, it ended up mushy. Taste was good but consistency was bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Too sweet! Just a fluffy, sweet and rich bread casserole dish. Children might like it. Would not make this again! Not French toast at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Amazing! I followed other advice and baked for 45 minutes at 350, taking foil off with 10 minutes to go. Instead of nutmeg (which I was out of!), I used cinnamon - This breakfast was amazing - very rich, but everyone loved it. Will be making more frequently for sure. And the compote (which we weren't sure about), added to the amazing taste of this breakfast dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Just made for the first time. Made the mistake of not reading through the entire recipe this morning and found I was supposed to let sit overnight in the frig. Didn't have time to do this, let it sit for maybe 30 min. and made the recipe. Everyone loved it. I also added cinnamon to the recipie as another review suggested. Good idea! Will probably cut back on the sugar next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States