Blueberry Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I've made this a few times from an almost identical recipe from Tast of Home. the only thing i changeis reduce the cream cheese to one packageas i find 2 is a bit too much. I like it with pure maple syrup or syrup made from canned blueberries and thicken it myself.It's easy to tweak this recipe to your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbey
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Yummy yummu! I made this for brunch and it was a hit! The only thing I want to specify is to use fresh blueberries if you can get ahold of them. I couldn't find any, so I had to use frozen and it was a little more watery than expected but the bread soaked it right up. The syrup is delicious, you may want to add an extra T. of cornstarch if you are using frozen blueberries because of the excess water. Otherwise, awesome and I will definitely make this a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
We really enjoyed this. But you definitely need the sauce because the base strata is a bit bland - there's little sugar or seasoning in it. I did use frozen berries and just gently pressed paper towels on them while in the strainer which helped out immensely with any over-watering concerns. Next time I will mke extra sauce because it's easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I made this for a brunch and followed the recipe exactly. It's very easy. and you make it the day before. It was Excellent! By far everyones favorite of the day of all of the dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Special and yummy breakfast or brunch dish. Good with butter and real maple syrup, but still a bit bland so it does need the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I loved this dish! It was really easy to make and the blueberry sauce topping was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Just sampled this hot out of the oven. Oh my! Love it! Just sweet enough and the texture, due to the cream cheese, was awesome. We made a half recipe but used 3 tablespoons of maple syrup and maybe 5-6 oz of cream cheese. We had to add water to the syrup to thin it when we reheated this morning. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Floyd, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I cut this in half using an 8x8 baking pan and used the leftover Cloverleaf rolls from last night's Turkey Day dinner instead of french bread. (I baked the rolls day before Thanksgiving but for some reason, they hardened up really fast. So, these rolls were perfect for this recipe.) I did use reduced fat cream cheese, fat free evaporated milk instead of regular milk, organic frozen blueberries that I thawed just a bit and Smuckers blueberry syrup (which I just happened to have in the fridge). My husband didn't care for it but it really was no issue because my kids snarfed up the rest. It was great for me because 1) breakfast was cake and 2) they were absolutely silent. Next time, I may play around with the recipe and maybe use something besides maple syrup in the strata. It might be pretty, too, with a drizzling of vanilla icing over the top and make a nice almost bread pudding dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Made this for Christmas morning and it was a huge letdown. Opted for cinnamon bread instead of french, but it still came out bland. The chunks of cream cheese overpowered everything else. My 3 year old daughter who will eat anything covered in sweet syrup wouldn't even finish hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This went over well at a New Year's Eve get together. However, one of the other dishes that got raves was "little smokies in barbecue sauce". So I take the praise with a grain of salt. (HA HA HA HA HA HA!!!) I did like that it was basically bread, berries and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOPEANN

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States