Blueberry Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by jussyozric
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This recipe is easy, and sure to please family/friends/company!!! The ONLY change I made to the recipe, was adding cinnamon and vanilla extract to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Great MAKE AHEAD recipe. I always read reviews before making any AR dish, so I knew to cut the cream cheese amount in half. Added cinnamon and nutmeg to the milk. Although I did chill this overnight, a trick to making a quicker strata of any kind is to make the recipe as directed through the stage where you'd be chilling it overnight. Then, cover your dish with plastic wrap and place some type of evenly-distributed weight on top -- another baking dish, or a cutting board with a cookbook on top, whatever. (No need to chill unless it's 100 degrees in your kitchen.) It only takes about an hour for the bread to soak up the custard perfectly! I added a bit of lemon juice to the syrup to brighten it up, too. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I hate that I am writing this without trying it, but I have to ask or make a suggestion....If the cream cheese chunks that don't melt are an issue, has anyone tried smoothing it on one side of the bread before slicing? Would that work and still allow a side for the bread to soak up the custard? I am anxious to try this while blueberries are in season ( now!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
All you have to do is just reduce the amount of water to just 1/2 a cup if you're using frozen blueberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was excellent. I had to "guesstimate" the amount of bread and flexed amount of egg mixture - but the overall result was perfect. I made this for Christmas morning, prepping the night before. This recipe not only received rave reviews from my kids who ranged 10 years to 22, but it allowed me to spend the morning with the family instead of "manning the griddle". A really nice change. As for the dish itself - it was perfect in that it was filling and NOT too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
excellent! I followed the advice of other reviewers and cut the cream cheese. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Berg Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brucemdykstra
Home Town: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This was good. I used a multi-grain bread, light cream cheese, and light vanilla silk. In order to reduce the calories, I decided to skip the blueberry syrup on top. But with the base strata, I thought it was very good and the maple syrup added a nice amount of sweetness the blueberries and cream cheese needed. The vanilla silk may have helped with that also. I also added about a teaspoon of salt to the custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Very good! Since cream cheese doesn't "melt", next time I will cut smaller so you don't get a chunk of it in a bite. I didn't have enough blueberries so I made a strawberry syrup instead - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Loved this! I served it for Christmas breakfast and it was a hit! I did use less cream cheese- 1 1/2 pkgs instead of two and it was plenty. The blueberry syrup was delicious on it and it was also good with warm maple syrup. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States