Blueberry Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
it was good, but i could really taste the egg in it. i like eggs, but it just seemed off in this dish. i thought it needed to be sweeter as well. my family did eat it, but it just didn't wow me like i thought it would. i was dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
LOVED IT! My husbands aunt made it for us a few years ago and have been making for our family ever since. You can even reheat and eat again for several days...Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was good, but it was way too much cream cheese for me and I would have thought the cream cheese would have softened and melted throughout but it stayed in the big clumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Everyone absolutely loved it. I only used 1 pkg. of cream cheese and this was plenty. Other than that I only made 2 other non-significant changes. I used whole wheat sandwich bread since it was all I had. Also, for the syrup, I cut back the sugar and water to 1 1/4 cup. It was plenty sweet. I might add some vanilla to the egg mixture next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This is a great dish-but not as is. I followed other folks suggestions and used less cream cheese. I used about 2/3 of a an 8oz brick and that was plenty and I pinched off little bits with my fingers into the mixture as opposed to 1/2" pieces. I also doubled the maple syrup to sweeten it up and added about 1 t. of cinnamon. I only used about 8 eggs and that was plenty. I served mine with maple syrup and not the blueberry syrup. This was a huge hit for our Mother's Day brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I hate it when people tweak and change recipes the first time they make it and then review it because they are reviewing something different, but in this case I am guilty. I made the strata following the directions but I used strawberries instead of blueberries (I had intended on using the blueberries but they were so expensive and strawberries were on sale). I know it is a major change but it was delicious!! Made it for Easter brunch and everyone loved it. They said it was so good they could not imagine it with blueberries. I will make it again, and I will try the blueberries. Blueberries would be less work because you wouldn't have to do any cutting. I think this is a great recipe and easy to make. Also, I did add a little bit of cinnamon to the milk/egg mix. Vanilla or little sugar to the mix would be good too. I love how you mix everything the night before then before you serve you make the syrup. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Love it! I think it will be great for Easter brunch because you prepare it ahead of time, freeing up time Easter morning for the Easter festivities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This went over well at a New Year's Eve get together. However, one of the other dishes that got raves was "little smokies in barbecue sauce". So I take the praise with a grain of salt. (HA HA HA HA HA HA!!!) I did like that it was basically bread, berries and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOPEANN
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Made this for Christmas morning and it was a huge letdown. Opted for cinnamon bread instead of french, but it still came out bland. The chunks of cream cheese overpowered everything else. My 3 year old daughter who will eat anything covered in sweet syrup wouldn't even finish hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I cut this in half using an 8x8 baking pan and used the leftover Cloverleaf rolls from last night's Turkey Day dinner instead of french bread. (I baked the rolls day before Thanksgiving but for some reason, they hardened up really fast. So, these rolls were perfect for this recipe.) I did use reduced fat cream cheese, fat free evaporated milk instead of regular milk, organic frozen blueberries that I thawed just a bit and Smuckers blueberry syrup (which I just happened to have in the fridge). My husband didn't care for it but it really was no issue because my kids snarfed up the rest. It was great for me because 1) breakfast was cake and 2) they were absolutely silent. Next time, I may play around with the recipe and maybe use something besides maple syrup in the strata. It might be pretty, too, with a drizzling of vanilla icing over the top and make a nice almost bread pudding dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States