Blueberry Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Abbey
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Yummy yummu! I made this for brunch and it was a hit! The only thing I want to specify is to use fresh blueberries if you can get ahold of them. I couldn't find any, so I had to use frozen and it was a little more watery than expected but the bread soaked it right up. The syrup is delicious, you may want to add an extra T. of cornstarch if you are using frozen blueberries because of the excess water. Otherwise, awesome and I will definitely make this a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I've made this a few times from an almost identical recipe from Tast of Home. the only thing i changeis reduce the cream cheese to one packageas i find 2 is a bit too much. I like it with pure maple syrup or syrup made from canned blueberries and thicken it myself.It's easy to tweak this recipe to your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
We really enjoyed this. But you definitely need the sauce because the base strata is a bit bland - there's little sugar or seasoning in it. I did use frozen berries and just gently pressed paper towels on them while in the strainer which helped out immensely with any over-watering concerns. Next time I will mke extra sauce because it's easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I cut this in half using an 8x8 baking pan and used the leftover Cloverleaf rolls from last night's Turkey Day dinner instead of french bread. (I baked the rolls day before Thanksgiving but for some reason, they hardened up really fast. So, these rolls were perfect for this recipe.) I did use reduced fat cream cheese, fat free evaporated milk instead of regular milk, organic frozen blueberries that I thawed just a bit and Smuckers blueberry syrup (which I just happened to have in the fridge). My husband didn't care for it but it really was no issue because my kids snarfed up the rest. It was great for me because 1) breakfast was cake and 2) they were absolutely silent. Next time, I may play around with the recipe and maybe use something besides maple syrup in the strata. It might be pretty, too, with a drizzling of vanilla icing over the top and make a nice almost bread pudding dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This is a great dish-but not as is. I followed other folks suggestions and used less cream cheese. I used about 2/3 of a an 8oz brick and that was plenty and I pinched off little bits with my fingers into the mixture as opposed to 1/2" pieces. I also doubled the maple syrup to sweeten it up and added about 1 t. of cinnamon. I only used about 8 eggs and that was plenty. I served mine with maple syrup and not the blueberry syrup. This was a huge hit for our Mother's Day brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I made this for a brunch and followed the recipe exactly. It's very easy. and you make it the day before. It was Excellent! By far everyones favorite of the day of all of the dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Warning: I modified it based on other reviews! Took this to a brunch event and it was a big hit. I will keep it on my list of favorite recipes! Used just one 8oz package of cream cheese mixed with 1 tsp of vanilla. Put lots of little blobs of cream cheese all over (tedious!). Added a couple of shakes of cinnamon and more vanilla to the egg/milk mixture. I used Italian bread (because the French bread at the store seemed like it would end up mushy, and the Italian was denser). I also failed to see the "chill overnight" when I read the recipe, so, I made it and popped straight in the oven! Used fresh blueberries. The syrup was FABULOUS! I'm going to make homemade syrup all the time from now on! (I used 1 cup sugar instead of 1-1/2) and it was plenty sweet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
We loved this, to the point where my husband mentioned it for DAYS after the fact. I used frozen wild blueberries that I found at Fred Meyer, they were much smaller but more intense in flavor. I used just a little less cream cheese and didn't bother with the syrup but sprinkled sugar on top instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was good, but it was way too much cream cheese for me and I would have thought the cream cheese would have softened and melted throughout but it stayed in the big clumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I hate it when people tweak and change recipes the first time they make it and then review it because they are reviewing something different, but in this case I am guilty. I made the strata following the directions but I used strawberries instead of blueberries (I had intended on using the blueberries but they were so expensive and strawberries were on sale). I know it is a major change but it was delicious!! Made it for Easter brunch and everyone loved it. They said it was so good they could not imagine it with blueberries. I will make it again, and I will try the blueberries. Blueberries would be less work because you wouldn't have to do any cutting. I think this is a great recipe and easy to make. Also, I did add a little bit of cinnamon to the milk/egg mix. Vanilla or little sugar to the mix would be good too. I love how you mix everything the night before then before you serve you make the syrup. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C.O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States