Blueberry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Delicious recipe!! But I will cut back on the topping the next time. I did add some cinnamon to the topping. I will be interested to try coconut oil next time instead of olive oil. Highly recommended recipe and I am not vegan. My husband loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Really great dessert without too much guilt! I added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon & 1/4 tsp. nutmeg to both the crust and the topping. Gave it the added flavor other reviewers indicated it needed. I agree there was too much topping, especially flour. Plan to cut back on that next time and maybe add a little more oil to help it congeal better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Rated this recipe high due to the positive health factor, yet still a dessert! Taste needs increased a bit. The only change I did to this recipe was add some cinnamon. Next time, will add some lemon zest and more cinnamon, nutmeg, etc. But overall, I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Surprisingly good! Served w/ a dallop of honey greek yogurt, a great snack for kids (or who are we kidding, a treat). Full of protein, fiber, vitamins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Original post of 5 stars: I tried these for the first time today and was pleased with the results! Because I don't own a food processor, I used my KitchenAid mixer to make the bottom layer and it worked out just fine. I used my 7x11 baking dish, so the bottom needed 30 minutes to bake instead of 20. I will possibly try baking it in a bigger dish next time. The only change I made to the bottom layer was to add just a shake of salt instead of the whole 1/4 t. I made the blueberry mixture just as it said to. I also made the top just as suggested, although I'm going to add cinnamon next time. I baked them for about 25 minutes and couldn't wait until they were cool to take a bite! These would definitely be good with some ice cream or Cool Whip, especially when warm! I was hesitant to bake with garbanzo beans, but now I won't be anymore. Thanks for sharing your healthy recipe, Janet! Edit with change to 2 stars: Turns out these blueberry squares were good only for the first day. After that, they turned very soggy and inedible. I ended up throwing away over half of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This was delish! I did add some cinnamon in with the crust ingredients. Came out very yummie! Also sprinkled top with cinnamon and sugar before baking. Can't wait to try this recipe with apple or raspberry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
For being a vegan dessert, this recipe was nearly as good as the buttery fruit bars. Only real change I made was using Mazola corn oil, mostly, as I only had about 2 Tblsp left of olive oil. I like that this had a lot of fiber with the beans, rolled oats, and all of the blueberries and it used oil instead of butter or shortening. Although, I could slightly taste the garbanzo beans. They do have a distinct taste. Also, the crust starts to get soggy by the 2nd day in the fridge. So, consider that with 24 bars, even if they are on the small size. Also, with the fruit, a large pack of blueberries, or whole sales club size, is really needed to get 3 full cups unless lucky enough to have a blueberry bush with abundant berries available. I used a 12 1/2 x 8 1/2 x 2-inch disposable pan sprayed with PAM. The bars cut out very nicely, but the topping is a little lose. Freshly made it was rather tasty with a little whipped topping or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Very tasty! A bit sweet though, so I'll add less sugar. And the topping volume was too much compared to the blueberry and crust. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I loved the idea of using garbanzo beans in these bars! I ended up not having as many berries as I thought I had, so used apples and pears to have enough fruit. The flavor is delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
The taste for a vegan dessert was great! A couple of adjustments I'd make next time: I'd use a 9x13 pan, and I'd add water or vegan spread like Earth Balance or something. I used fresh raspberries and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Haha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saratoga Springs, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States