Blueberry Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2001
I used 10 cups of blueberries with 2-1/2 cups water + 3T+1t minute maid lemon juice. Followed directions as writen. Mixed 5 envelopes Knox with 1-1/4 cups water. Added 1 cup sugar after berries simmered. It yeilded 11 8oz Glad snack size containers. Excellent and only 20 calories per once! Also was great over ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I didn't feel like canning this, especially since it makes a very small amount, so I just refrigerated it in a freezer container. It seemed to work just as well. I also used frozen berries which didn't seem to affect the quality- it was very tasty! I made a PB&J with this for lunch and it was one of the best PB&Js I've ever had! My only complaint is that it doesn't spread very well. But if you zap it in the microwave for a while and mix it up, it makes a really good filling for crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
This was pretty good. I used sugar substitute and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
Great versatile recipe. I use it on cheescake, pound cake, as a layer cake filling, and of course pancakes. I freeze it in small amounts (Glad plastic containers, the small size) and defrost throughout the winter. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I increased the blueberries by approximately one cup and the sugar to 5 tablespoons. This worked out perfect for my family as not everyone likes their preserves too sweet. The extra blueberries gave the fruit flavor an extra boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Silpe
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I made this recipe with fresh peaches instead of blueberries. Be sure to cut up the peaches into about dime size pieces. Make exactly how recipe calls for. This is great on bagels with cream cheese and the peach spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I am editing my review since it is now about 6 months later and I have just thrown out the jars I made... totally stiff! Less gelatin next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
VERY NICE SPREAD! I had some frozen blueberries that I needed to use, so I tried this recipe eventhough it called for fresh blueberries. I made it according to the recipe. After it jelled we tried it. The blueberry skins made the texture chewy; so, I emptied the container into a saucepan, heated it, then ran it through a strainer. Once cooled, I refrigerated it overnight. It jelled again and made for a very nice blueberry spread that would be great on top of waffles or pancakes. It reminds me of a cross between blueberry syrup and jello. Thank you Lovesmurfs for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
WONDERFUL...low sugar recipe. I doubled it & used fresh lemon juice (including the zest). First time I have found a recipe on this site that doesn't need at least 4 changes...& really deserves 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millbrook, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
This recipe is so easy and delicious!! I completed the recipe as stated, and it turned out perfect. The fresh blueberries are so refreshing, that I can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States