Blueberry Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I followed the recipe exact BUT I did let the jam-filled jars cool on the kitchen counter overnight before refrigerating. I made eggs and jelly toast for breakfast this morning--we all liked this spread. I loved the textures in this jam and the thickness was spot on. My littlest especially loved this spread. I loved how the recipe submitter sweetened it just enough to bring out the natural sweetness of the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
VERY NICE SPREAD! I had some frozen blueberries that I needed to use, so I tried this recipe eventhough it called for fresh blueberries. I made it according to the recipe. After it jelled we tried it. The blueberry skins made the texture chewy; so, I emptied the container into a saucepan, heated it, then ran it through a strainer. Once cooled, I refrigerated it overnight. It jelled again and made for a very nice blueberry spread that would be great on top of waffles or pancakes. It reminds me of a cross between blueberry syrup and jello. Thank you Lovesmurfs for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have tried lots of different recipes for jams/jellies...this one is by far the best! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
WONDERFUL...low sugar recipe. I doubled it & used fresh lemon juice (including the zest). First time I have found a recipe on this site that doesn't need at least 4 changes...& really deserves 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millbrook, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I liked this well enough, especially since our blueberries were so flavorful this year. I would definitely use more sugar, and might incorporate it in the cooking process. Final product, as written, is almost like a soft blueberry jello. Not quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I doubled the recipe and it never really set well. So it was more of a blueberry sauce than a spread. But it went well on pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I am editing my review since it is now about 6 months later and I have just thrown out the jars I made... totally stiff! Less gelatin next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I used frozen berries instead of fresh. Frozen tend to add more liquid than fresh so I cooked this twice as long. I also blended the berries with a hand blender. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I increased the blueberries by approximately one cup and the sugar to 5 tablespoons. This worked out perfect for my family as not everyone likes their preserves too sweet. The extra blueberries gave the fruit flavor an extra boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Silpe
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I didn't feel like canning this, especially since it makes a very small amount, so I just refrigerated it in a freezer container. It seemed to work just as well. I also used frozen berries which didn't seem to affect the quality- it was very tasty! I made a PB&J with this for lunch and it was one of the best PB&Js I've ever had! My only complaint is that it doesn't spread very well. But if you zap it in the microwave for a while and mix it up, it makes a really good filling for crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States