Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Absolutely To.Die.For!!! The only downside was not due to the recipe or cake itself, but my oven. I put the cake in for 55-minutes and when we checked it the first time not only was it still way too wet, but the batter was only warm at best. Put it back in for another 15-minutes and while the batter was stil wet it was at least hot when we checked it that time. All in all we ended up baking this for 1h 45m and had to cover it with foil the last 20-mins to keep it from getting too brown. Let it cool on the stovetop and it turned out perfectly. My 5 y/o polished off two pieces and the 16 m/o ate every last crumb from his plate! Definitely a keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
tried recipe. After 2 hours of cooking at 350 and a half hour of convection baking at 360 it is somewhat done. After reading the negative comments one would think someone could explain the general problem??? The taste is wonderful but how does one serve a pile of very rich batter without a big scoop of vanilla ice cream??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I did not change a thing. This is wonderful. I made this for a very PICKY sweet eater and he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I just took this coffee cake out of the oven, first time making it. It is DELICIOUS and very, very moist. I did have to bake it in a pie plate however because I don't have a bundt cake pan, so it got a little hard around the edges. I also replaced the sour cream with Greek style plain yogurt-for some healthiness :-) and used walnuts (what we had on hand) instead of pecans. It is VERY sweet, so for the next one I may cut out some sugar, but I know my kids will love this one. One piece will do you. Will make this again, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
"Outrageously delicious" ...I made these for the office breakfast potluck. They were a hit and everyone is asking for me to make some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItzAmazingAmy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I made the recipe as is and everyone loved it. Used fresh blueberries from my bushes and the only addition I made was a few more berries as we love them. It was yummy and gone in the blink of an eye
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Instead of sour cream I used plain yogurt! It was moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
The taste was very good, but the texture was too dense. I cut the the sugar to 1 cup, so glad I did . Increased the blueberries to 2 cups, and used yogurt instead of sour cream. I followed a previous suggestion to place the brown sugar/nuts/cinnamon mixture at the bottom to get a caramely topping. I don't know if it was this technique that prevented the cake from fully rising or the lack of baking soda. Every cake recipe that asks for sour cream or yoghurt always had baking soda as well as baking powder. I will try again going by the exact recipe, only adding baking soda next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I followed the directions exactly, but decided to use an angel food cake pan instead, as I never have any luck with a bundt pan. Personally, I found it to be too sweet, but everyone else loved it. Instead of topping it with powdered sugar I made a lemon glaze which complimented it nicely. I did have to bake it about 15 min. longer, but I just kept checking on it and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
horrible, i make cakes all the time and would never waste my time on this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States