Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I've made this recipe several times and I absolutely love it. It is the most yummy, moist coffee cake ever. I shared this during a New Years Eve party and it was a huge hit. I've made with just blue berries and I've also made it with blueberries and raspberries. It was yummy both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This was the best blueberry coffee cake I ever made!! It is very heavy, moist and delicious, just the way I like it!! I may try to cut back sugar to 1 1/2 cups next time just to see if it affects the taste. This will be my go-to blueberry coffee cake recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
If you enjoy cloyingly sweet grocery store bakery items, then this is the recipe for you. I followed the recipe exactly as posted. I'm an experienced baker, with plenty of Bundt cakes under my belt. I planned to make it to use up left-over sour cream and take it to work. It came out of the oven pretty, but it was impossible to get out of the pan. The streusel caramelized and bonded it to the pan. It finally came out, in chunks. I contemplated compromising my baking cred by taking it to work anyway - until I tasted it. Too sweet and unappealingly damp and dense. I'm giving it 2 stars. I appreciate I don't share everyone's taste for extremely sweet cakes, so if this recipe appeals to you I'd recommend keeping the streusel away form the sides of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I baked for sports event for my kids. They sold ice coffee and I baked this cake to go along with it. It was more than good enough to sell. A few things though I think I would change in recipe. It was too sweat for even for my kids and that's a good indication to reduce sugar. I would make with 1 cup sugar. Also, sour cream without any liquid except for eggs is a little too thick to mix. It could create over-mixing or some flour could remain dry without liquid. I would add some milk to make mixing easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tomkins Cove, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This cake is a super sweet heavy mess that falls apart when cut! It is not good only sweet. I threw it away and will not make it again. I can't believe people actually liked this. If it is such a good recipe as many have said, why all the changes to it? More of this, less of that, add this etc. etc. A recipe is only truly good if you can make it as is without all the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Amazing!! Only change I made was to reduce the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and increase the blueberries (fresh blueberries) to 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Have made this several times for us & neighbors. I do use 1 1/2 c sugar & may have to try 1 1/3 cups sugar or less. I've been doing 1/2 the brown sugar, cinnamon & pecan mixture & it is much better. Using the entire amount is just way to sweet for us. This is a big hit & goes fast. I've even made this when I only had 3/4 c of sour cream & it still was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This was a disaster. It was wayy too heavy. The cake actually sunk on top of itself. It was too sweet. It fell to pieces after sitting and cooling in the fridge for 2 hours. I will never make this again and I don't recommend anyone else to make it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was very disappointing. The flavor missed the mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Made this for a dinner party last night - everyone loved it! Almost all had seconds (or thirds!) and asked for the recipe. Reduced white sugar to 1.5c as recommended, increased berries to 1.5c. Could cut down on brown sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States