Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I made four cakes. One exactly per the recipe (how can you rate a recipe unless you make it exactly as written?), one with less sugar per reviews, one with more blueberries per reviews, and one with less sugar and more blueberries. I took them to the restaurant where I work for a blind taste test with my coworkers. The majority picked the original recipe as best, but all were wonderful and disappeared before the end of the night. Management is thinking about adding this to our menu. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
494 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I'm not one to give a five easily but this recipe was wonderful! I decreased the white sugar by about a 1/3 cup and added more blueberries (I used frozen about 1 and 1/2 cup). When I use frozen blueberries I toss them in about 1 tbs of the flour to prevent having a purple batter. I made this dessert for a group of women from around the world, who have various different tastes, and EVERYONE enjoyed it. They all asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
272 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
This cake is delicious. I used 1 1/2 sticks butter, 1 1/2 cups sugar and 1 ¾ cups fresh blueberries. Some reviewers mentioned it flattening out. The key is not to over mix the batter after adding the sour cream. *Gently* blend in the sour cream and then the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
I made this for "snack day" at the office. Made no changes except to cook it for less time than stated. Absolutely wonderful coffee cake. I was a little concerned because the batter was so thick and I really couldn’t swirl the streusel in as much as just push it down a little bit. Beautiful recipe and everyone at the office is raving about it. Words used to describe this cake included, “wonderful” and “divine”. Many thanks to dmcarm. Addendum: I made this for Thanksgiving and froze it. As wonderful as this cake is, it didn't freeze well. The texture after thawing was too moist and it just wasn't as good as fresh. It was torture having it in the freezer anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I made this with fat free sour cream and substituted SPLENDA for half the amount of sugar. You couldn't tell - it was amazing, moist, and all my classmates (who I brought it to) LOVED it. It was tough to get out of the bundt pan because the berries tend to get very gooey and stick to the pan...be careful with the placement of the berries if you can. (Try to get them toward the inside of the cake.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This made a very moist heavy coffee cake, but oh so delicious! I cut back butter to 1+1/2 sticks (3/4 cup) as suggested by others and cut sugar back to 1 cup. Also dusted pecans with flour before adding to cake. Others said they collapsed cake and this old trick from my grandma works fine for that. I did use 2 cups blueberries and a little more cinnamon than suggested. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This simply is the best recipe to impress your friends, not for the diet conscious. I like its heavy, moist texture, preferably the next day served cold for me. I'm spreading the word here in Australia! I used only 1 1/2 cups of sugar...next time I'm going to put the topping on the bottom, so that when it is turned out it will have a caramel effect with the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Balwyn, Victoria, Australia
Living In: Tinbeerwah, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This recipe is a traditional buckle made using pound cake like proportions. That's the reason why everyone is finding their cake too sweet, and very dense. The only coffee-cake aspect of the recipe is the name. To avoid cake collapse, the wet ingredients (excluding the sour cream) need to be whipped as long as possible, then the sour cream and dry ingredients should be folded in gently by hand. The dry ingredients should be mixed together before adding to the wet. These types of techniques will leaven the cake a little. To make it more a buckle and less a pound cake, use only 3/4 cup butter, 1 cup sugar and more fruit. Otherwise, you're eating a blueberry, sugar crumbed pound cake. Also - if you increase the fruit, and decrease the sugar/butter, expect to bake it longer to absorb the extra moisture. I baked mine for 1 hr 30 min in a 350 oven and it was still very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I made this cake this morning and it turned out perfectly! I didn't have vanilla so I used a half tsp of almond extract. Tasted great! This cake is very sweet, so one could easily cut back on the sugar to 1.5 cups. I used frozen blueberries, but before adding them to the batter, I ran cool water over them and let them set for 10-15 minutes. This thawing made them taste like fresh in the finished cake. I may try lemon extract next time, just to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzweex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
DIVINE!!! I am eating my slightly too warm first piece right now. I didn't have any frozen blueberries on hand so I used a frozen berry medley mix and it's delicious. I also omitted the pecans because the husband doesn't like nuts. I let it cook an additional 12 minutes since I used frozen berries and it turned out perfect. I realized after all was said and done that I did not have any powdered sugar to dust on top - which is fine since this is just for my sweetie and I, but if you're serving this to others, I think the powdered sugar would be a nice addition. I also sifted together the flour, baking powder and salt before adding it to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States