Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Like many others said, mine did not cook all the way through. I ended up baking it or 1.5 hours and it was still gooey in the middle. Tasted pretty good, but you had to eat around the uncooked part. It was frustrating because I cooked it for a get together at my house and had to run to the store to get something else at the last minute. =[
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This was excellent. I would make it again...like this weekend. Thanks jerry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I made this cake this morning. I made it exactly as written and followed the directions to a "T" with no alterations. It baked for 60 minutes. It did not cave or fall. The blueberries did not sink to the top, they stayed throughout the cake just fine. I waited until the cake cooled completely (about an hour) before inverting it onto a plate and it came out of the bundt pan beautifully with no sticking or breaking apart. And the taste? Simply amazing!!! I think that, too often, some cooks do not follow the recipe as written, adding their own touches and experience, but then wonder why the recipe did not turn out well for them. Or maybe their oven isn't heating properly and it's time to have it calibrated. Or perhaps they live in high altitude areas and provisions need to be made for this. I don't know...but I do know that this cake, made as written, is a wonderful cake that I will make over and over again. Thank you so much for this recipe d newman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
If there is any problem with this recipe, it's the name. With a texture unlike anything I have tried before, it's not what anyone would think of when they think of "coffee cake." I think it ought to be called a "blueberry buckle cake" because that is exactly what it does...buckles in as it cools. That aside, it tastes amazing! As always, I followed the recipe exactly on my first attempt, and wouldn't change a thing. I have another one in the oven baking now, the first one was so good (both mine were bundt). Three warnings: One, the batter will be very thick and hard to spread in the pan. Two, it gets almost "goppy" when refrigerated (but if you microwave it for a few seconds, it's as good as new). Three, I wouldn't serve this if you are concerned with "presentation." It bakes up pretty in the oven, but looks quite sad once cooled. Those concerns aside, it tastes phenomenal! I even served it to a very picky brother, who found it tasty enough to eat most of it himself! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
this recipe is scrumptious, however, I have one that is fully as good with less butter and less sugar. Mine calls for l/2 cup butter, l cup of sugar, 2 cups flour, 1 tsp. baking soda, everything else is the same. Try it, you might like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Absolutely To.Die.For!!! The only downside was not due to the recipe or cake itself, but my oven. I put the cake in for 55-minutes and when we checked it the first time not only was it still way too wet, but the batter was only warm at best. Put it back in for another 15-minutes and while the batter was stil wet it was at least hot when we checked it that time. All in all we ended up baking this for 1h 45m and had to cover it with foil the last 20-mins to keep it from getting too brown. Let it cool on the stovetop and it turned out perfectly. My 5 y/o polished off two pieces and the 16 m/o ate every last crumb from his plate! Definitely a keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
tried recipe. After 2 hours of cooking at 350 and a half hour of convection baking at 360 it is somewhat done. After reading the negative comments one would think someone could explain the general problem??? The taste is wonderful but how does one serve a pile of very rich batter without a big scoop of vanilla ice cream??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I did not change a thing. This is wonderful. I made this for a very PICKY sweet eater and he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I just took this coffee cake out of the oven, first time making it. It is DELICIOUS and very, very moist. I did have to bake it in a pie plate however because I don't have a bundt cake pan, so it got a little hard around the edges. I also replaced the sour cream with Greek style plain yogurt-for some healthiness :-) and used walnuts (what we had on hand) instead of pecans. It is VERY sweet, so for the next one I may cut out some sugar, but I know my kids will love this one. One piece will do you. Will make this again, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
"Outrageously delicious" ...I made these for the office breakfast potluck. They were a hit and everyone is asking for me to make some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItzAmazingAmy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States