Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I made this because it is "blueberry season". I used fresh blueberries and increased them to 1 1/2 cups, but would make it again with only 1 cup of blueberries. The batter was very moist, but the cake would not release from the bundt pan, even though it was properly prepared. The "broken" cake was quickly finished and there was a request for another one before blueberry season is over. Oh, by the way 1 5/8 cups of flour actually comes out to 1 1/2 cups plus 1 Tablespoon of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Go for the gold and make this coffee cake. I've made it twice as written and good to the last crumb. HIGHLY recommend! Jo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I have made this a few times and this IS, IMO..the BEST blueberry cake/cobbler/bread recipe on this site and maybe even online for that matter, as I have tried most of the recipes for blueberry baked goods on here. I do think there is too much butter in this recipe, so I recently cut out half of the butter and substituted one of those small snack size portions of blueberry flavored applesauce that I happened to have in my fridge and the cake turned out just as fabulous as it does with the 2 sticks of butter, so from now on I will probably do 1/2 butter, 1/2 applesauce on the butter requirements just to cut a few calories and guilt. My family DEVOURS this cake, it doesn't even last 12 hours in this house.. I made it yesterday at 4pm and the kids must've kept attacking it for late night snack because there was one tiny portion left at 7am. The sour cream and cinnamon/brown sugar swirl really make this recipe stand WAY above the others, one of my favorite finds on all recipes, I'd give it 6 stars if I could. I have ALWAYS made this in a bundt cake pan and it has always risen just fine, I would avoid glass and stick with metal cake or bundt pans, maybe the reason some people are having problems with it rising is the vessel they are cooking it in, just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Just made this tonight, had to make a change due to a lack of ingredient. Had to use yogurt instead of sour cream and didn't have enough for 1 cup. So used what I had +/- 1/3 cup and added some half & half +/- 1/4 cup. Then only baked for 50 minutes. Turned out wonderful! Not dense or to heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This is the second time I have made this recipe. The first time I used the mixer to mix all ingredients, folded in the blueberries, and as a number of others have stated, the center sank some. This time, I used the beater for the sugar / butter and egg mixture, then folded in the sour cream and then the dry, sifted ingredients as others have suggested. The 9 x13 pan is still cooling, an hour + , and nothing is sunken! Rich, sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
My husband could not get enough of this cake! It was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Simply delicious! I used huckleberries, and the recipe was perfect as is -- no need to add additional sugar to offset their tartness. Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mythos
Photo by sweetluv
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Everyone that tried it said it was delicious and I agree. Although it was a little dense for me, I would've liked it to be lighter and fluffier. I topped the cake with cream cheese frosting and then put a bunch of glazed blueberries into the center (hole) of the cake. Very yummy, I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I followed the recipe and took it into work...it was delicious! Everyone raved over it! Loved the moist dense texture, this is a keeper and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Very moist ....but next time I will use fresh berries and less sugar for personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States