Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
The BEST blueberry cake!! Loved it! I will make it again soon. I will also cut back the white sugar next time to 1 cup and I think it doesn't need that much sugar. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for leftover blueberries. I usually have everything in my pantry. The end result is a guilty pleasure but so, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe as written and baked it in a 9x13 glass dish for 40 min. Delicious! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This was just too sweet. I would definitely cut down on the sugar and the streusel . I also think putting half the streusel at the bottom (fluted part) of the bundt pan would be better. That way, when the cake is inverted, the streusel is on the top of the cake, not the bottom. I also baked the recommended amount of time and used a cake tester, but the cake was so moist, it felt like it was undercooked. The flavor of the blueberries was lost in the texture and sweetness of the cake. If I made this again, I would also increase the amount of blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Delicious but my cake did crumble a bit. I had to cut it into slices to serve it, and then thick slices to have it hold up. It is heavy and sweet so next time I would use less sugar. I didn't use nuts due to allergies. Nice recipe and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Super+ Made as directed! Only change...boyfriend ate most of the blueberries...so I threw in some fresh cherries halved. THIS IS A BEAUTIFUL BUNDT CAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I made this because it is "blueberry season". I used fresh blueberries and increased them to 1 1/2 cups, but would make it again with only 1 cup of blueberries. The batter was very moist, but the cake would not release from the bundt pan, even though it was properly prepared. The "broken" cake was quickly finished and there was a request for another one before blueberry season is over. Oh, by the way 1 5/8 cups of flour actually comes out to 1 1/2 cups plus 1 Tablespoon of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Go for the gold and make this coffee cake. I've made it twice as written and good to the last crumb. HIGHLY recommend! Jo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I have made this a few times and this IS, IMO..the BEST blueberry cake/cobbler/bread recipe on this site and maybe even online for that matter, as I have tried most of the recipes for blueberry baked goods on here. I do think there is too much butter in this recipe, so I recently cut out half of the butter and substituted one of those small snack size portions of blueberry flavored applesauce that I happened to have in my fridge and the cake turned out just as fabulous as it does with the 2 sticks of butter, so from now on I will probably do 1/2 butter, 1/2 applesauce on the butter requirements just to cut a few calories and guilt. My family DEVOURS this cake, it doesn't even last 12 hours in this house.. I made it yesterday at 4pm and the kids must've kept attacking it for late night snack because there was one tiny portion left at 7am. The sour cream and cinnamon/brown sugar swirl really make this recipe stand WAY above the others, one of my favorite finds on all recipes, I'd give it 6 stars if I could. I have ALWAYS made this in a bundt cake pan and it has always risen just fine, I would avoid glass and stick with metal cake or bundt pans, maybe the reason some people are having problems with it rising is the vessel they are cooking it in, just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Just made this tonight, had to make a change due to a lack of ingredient. Had to use yogurt instead of sour cream and didn't have enough for 1 cup. So used what I had +/- 1/3 cup and added some half & half +/- 1/4 cup. Then only baked for 50 minutes. Turned out wonderful! Not dense or to heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States