Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I love blueberries and I was visiting friends on my vacation and when I got this recipe in an email I printed it out and their son and his fiance made it twice while I was there and it is awesome! Moist and flavorful and served warm with vanilla ice cream it was a perfect treat! They followed the recipe exactly and it was quickly devoured both times. I wouldn't suggest changing a thing and plan on making it myself to bring to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
After reading many of the 500 plus reviews for this recipe, I decided to give it a try - am I glad I did! Even with a small 'mis-step' on my part, it is OUTSTANDING - one of the most delicious cakes I've ever baked/tasted. I used 1-1/2 sticks of "Imperial", 1 cup of 'lite' sour cream, 1 tblsp of lemon juice and 2 cups of frozen blueberries, (tossed in a little flour). I misread the sugar quantity, thinking that the total of white and brown was 2-1/2 cups going into the cake. Since many suggested reducing the sugar, I put slightly over 1 cup of white sugar in with the margarine, then added 1/2 cup of brown sugar and creamed it together! It wasn't until I read further that I realized the 1/2 cup of brown sugar was to make the crumble that gets swirled into and on top of the cake batter! I was really concerned that I had ruined the whole thing, but I kept going; just measured out another 1/2 cup of brown sugar for the swirl... (I added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, along with the pecans and cinnamon.) Let me tell you again - the result is AMAZING! Moist, light, flavorful and delicious! I feel bad for those who weren't successful because I know that feeling, too. When I make this again, I'll be sure to make the same 'mistake' by using both white and brown sugar to the make the batter. (May I also say that I'm grateful to anyone who provided the many tips that were really helpful to me - like the additions of lemon juice, nutmeg and flouring the berries.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was like a sour cream coffee cake with berries. I used walnuts as I did not have pecans. I had to cook it a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Very easy to make and it tasted great. Didn't have blueberries but had raspberries instead so used them in the recipe. Really enjoyed it and so did my husband. The only problem I had was getting it out of the pan, but I think that was probably my error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Like many others said, mine did not cook all the way through. I ended up baking it or 1.5 hours and it was still gooey in the middle. Tasted pretty good, but you had to eat around the uncooked part. It was frustrating because I cooked it for a get together at my house and had to run to the store to get something else at the last minute. =[
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This was excellent. I would make it again...like this weekend. Thanks jerry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I made this cake this morning. I made it exactly as written and followed the directions to a "T" with no alterations. It baked for 60 minutes. It did not cave or fall. The blueberries did not sink to the top, they stayed throughout the cake just fine. I waited until the cake cooled completely (about an hour) before inverting it onto a plate and it came out of the bundt pan beautifully with no sticking or breaking apart. And the taste? Simply amazing!!! I think that, too often, some cooks do not follow the recipe as written, adding their own touches and experience, but then wonder why the recipe did not turn out well for them. Or maybe their oven isn't heating properly and it's time to have it calibrated. Or perhaps they live in high altitude areas and provisions need to be made for this. I don't know...but I do know that this cake, made as written, is a wonderful cake that I will make over and over again. Thank you so much for this recipe d newman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
If there is any problem with this recipe, it's the name. With a texture unlike anything I have tried before, it's not what anyone would think of when they think of "coffee cake." I think it ought to be called a "blueberry buckle cake" because that is exactly what it does...buckles in as it cools. That aside, it tastes amazing! As always, I followed the recipe exactly on my first attempt, and wouldn't change a thing. I have another one in the oven baking now, the first one was so good (both mine were bundt). Three warnings: One, the batter will be very thick and hard to spread in the pan. Two, it gets almost "goppy" when refrigerated (but if you microwave it for a few seconds, it's as good as new). Three, I wouldn't serve this if you are concerned with "presentation." It bakes up pretty in the oven, but looks quite sad once cooled. Those concerns aside, it tastes phenomenal! I even served it to a very picky brother, who found it tasty enough to eat most of it himself! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
this recipe is scrumptious, however, I have one that is fully as good with less butter and less sugar. Mine calls for l/2 cup butter, l cup of sugar, 2 cups flour, 1 tsp. baking soda, everything else is the same. Try it, you might like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States