Blueberry Snack Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These are off the charts insane. I made three small changes--I added one cup of fresh blueberries (I really wanted to taste the blueberres) and a teaspoon of lemon zest AND I used pecans instead of walnuts, as we don't care for walnuts. We can't keep our hands off of them. Out of the whole batch, two "bars" remain. They are SO flipping good. Awesome pantry dessert/snack. We love these. I might try this with cherry pie filling and almonds next time. I bet that would be really good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
A very bad experience. Could not get these to cook all the way through. Left them in the oven at a lower temp to try to get them cooked after the initial 45-55 minute time period and all that did was way overbrown the crust. On to finding a better recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I am making this recipe for the second time, and i am taking it to my church for a pitch in dinner. It is excellent. I would suggest adding a table spoon of lemon juice or some lemon zest to the cream cheese mixture, just to give it some zing. This is really a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Didn't have any blueberry pie filling, so substituted cherry. Other than that, followed recipe exactly. The cake crust was a little overpowering, kind of like eating raw batter. Overall, pretty good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made this for a luncheon at school. I came home with an empty pan! Easy and delicious. It's a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
WOW! Very easy to make and looks so decadent! I did use cherry pie filling, baked in pampered chef stoneware bar pan about 52 mins. Drizzled melted chocolate over the top. Great recipe. Will make again with other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Holy Blueberry Hill!! These are awesome! I did have to use some substitutions based on what I had (or didn't have is more like it). No canned blueberry pie filling. I made my own with 1 and a half cups frozen blueberries. Bring half a cup of water, the blueberries and 1/3 cup white sugar to a boil. In small bowl wisk 1/4 cup cornstarch in 1/2 cup cold water. Very gently wisk this mixture into the bluberries. Boil about 5 minutes. Wisking gently and often. Set aside and let cool completely. I also didn't have a boxed cake mix so I used an AR recipe (Cake Mixes from Scratch)for yellow cake. I used the entire (dry ingredients only) cake mix (with complete disregard to the blueberry recipe calling for 18oz. of cake mix.) Turned out great! Made a thick crust that was just right. I baked this in a 9x13in. metal pan at 325 degrees for 55 minutes. Let it cool on the counter then it went in the fridge for a few hours prior to slicing it up into squares. I can't say enough how good this is. Looks kinda fancy, too. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
These were just okay for me. I used a lemon cake mix but otherwise followed recipe exactly. They are very pretty but thin, hard to get out of the pan without slopping around. I brought them for a bake sale and they sold out, and one person asked for the recipe. But I probably wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Your kidding, right? Not enough batter to spread in a jelly pan. Tried in a 9 x 13. One hour later it is STILL baking. Center will not set. If it ever finishes it will be too late for the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Family loved this recipe. I made it according to recipe but used fresh blueberries instead and it turned out great! Makes a great summertime/fresh fruit dessert - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

If you love chocolate and peanut butter together, these are the bars for you.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States