Blueberry Snack Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I came across this recipe while looking for something to do with my fresh blueberries. I made this recipe as instructed only I substituted fresh blueberries for the canned. I put a pint of blueberries in a saucepan with about 1/3 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of water and boiled for 5 minutes to thicken, I also whisked in about 1/4 cup of corn starch to help thickening. I let it cool before spreading on the cream cheese layer. After the bars came out of the oven, I let it cool enough so I was able to put it in the fridge -much easier to slice!! This is one of the best recipes ever! I have never found a recipe my family loved so much using blueberries! I think the only way it gets better is adding a big spoon of either whipped cream or cool whip - a big dollup! I made it last night and I just returned from the store with more ingredients to make more!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I made this for a family gathering. Everyone loved it. They liked the chewing crust. The blueberry and cream cheese was yummy. I used a butter flavored cake mix. I bet a lemon flavored cake mix would be good too. It was easy to make. I used a 10 x 12 pan and baked for 50 mins. I love fast & easy recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
You can't eat just one! My changes: We had a larger group, so I used a large jelly-roll pan (made about 35 servings). The crust was thinner, but everyone loved it! Also had to make my own quick version of pie filling w/ our fresh blueberries (see the comments above), and used only 2 C. of the conf. sugar, but it all came out fantastic! GREAT recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I completely changed this recipe to use what I had on hand, and for that new recipe, I give it 5 stars. Substitutions: white cake mix with almond extract added to batter, cherry pie filling, chopped almonds. Omit coconut. This turned out fabulous! It was very pretty and easy to make. I'd love to try the original recipe when I have ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I followed the other reviews directions for fresh blueberries...my mother in-law loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Definitely give this one a try! It is wonderful!! The 1st time I made this, I followed the recipe as written and loved it, but I like to play with recipes so the 2nd time I reduced the butter and added applesauce which worked, but made the dough stickier and a little harder to work with when spreading it in the pan. Next time I make this I think I will try a lemon cake mix because that sounds good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Absolutely delicious!!! Made in a 9X13 pyrex dish and baked 10 minutes longer. Took to dinner at a friends house and everyone had 2 pieces. I think next time I may try it with cherry pie filling and sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This dessert was so good and so easy I will be making it over and over again!...I did use fresh blueberries, cooked with water, sugar and cornstarch then cooled instead of canned blueberries. I can imagine you could use different kinds of cake mix and different fruits too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRATTYBLUEEYES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Entered 09/14/09..What can I say? This is absolutely fabulous. For some reason, I had to leave it in the oven for about 10 minutes longer though. And I was wondering, does anyone know if this would freeze good? **Update**09/21/09..I made this this weekend using chocolate cake mix and cherry filling. I also cut the sugar down to 2 cups. So good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agapimou

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Family loved this recipe. I made it according to recipe but used fresh blueberries instead and it turned out great! Makes a great summertime/fresh fruit dessert - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States