Blueberry Snack Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I came across this recipe while looking for something to do with my fresh blueberries. I made this recipe as instructed only I substituted fresh blueberries for the canned. I put a pint of blueberries in a saucepan with about 1/3 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of water and boiled for 5 minutes to thicken, I also whisked in about 1/4 cup of corn starch to help thickening. I let it cool before spreading on the cream cheese layer. After the bars came out of the oven, I let it cool enough so I was able to put it in the fridge -much easier to slice!! This is one of the best recipes ever! I have never found a recipe my family loved so much using blueberries! I think the only way it gets better is adding a big spoon of either whipped cream or cool whip - a big dollup! I made it last night and I just returned from the store with more ingredients to make more!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These are off the charts insane. I made three small changes--I added one cup of fresh blueberries (I really wanted to taste the blueberres) and a teaspoon of lemon zest AND I used pecans instead of walnuts, as we don't care for walnuts. We can't keep our hands off of them. Out of the whole batch, two "bars" remain. They are SO flipping good. Awesome pantry dessert/snack. We love these. I might try this with cherry pie filling and almonds next time. I bet that would be really good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I made this for a family gathering. Everyone loved it. They liked the chewing crust. The blueberry and cream cheese was yummy. I used a butter flavored cake mix. I bet a lemon flavored cake mix would be good too. It was easy to make. I used a 10 x 12 pan and baked for 50 mins. I love fast & easy recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Holy Blueberry Hill!! These are awesome! I did have to use some substitutions based on what I had (or didn't have is more like it). No canned blueberry pie filling. I made my own with 1 and a half cups frozen blueberries. Bring half a cup of water, the blueberries and 1/3 cup white sugar to a boil. In small bowl wisk 1/4 cup cornstarch in 1/2 cup cold water. Very gently wisk this mixture into the bluberries. Boil about 5 minutes. Wisking gently and often. Set aside and let cool completely. I also didn't have a boxed cake mix so I used an AR recipe (Cake Mixes from Scratch)for yellow cake. I used the entire (dry ingredients only) cake mix (with complete disregard to the blueberry recipe calling for 18oz. of cake mix.) Turned out great! Made a thick crust that was just right. I baked this in a 9x13in. metal pan at 325 degrees for 55 minutes. Let it cool on the counter then it went in the fridge for a few hours prior to slicing it up into squares. I can't say enough how good this is. Looks kinda fancy, too. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
You can't eat just one! My changes: We had a larger group, so I used a large jelly-roll pan (made about 35 servings). The crust was thinner, but everyone loved it! Also had to make my own quick version of pie filling w/ our fresh blueberries (see the comments above), and used only 2 C. of the conf. sugar, but it all came out fantastic! GREAT recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Absolutely delicious!!! Made in a 9X13 pyrex dish and baked 10 minutes longer. Took to dinner at a friends house and everyone had 2 pieces. I think next time I may try it with cherry pie filling and sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Definitely give this one a try! It is wonderful!! The 1st time I made this, I followed the recipe as written and loved it, but I like to play with recipes so the 2nd time I reduced the butter and added applesauce which worked, but made the dough stickier and a little harder to work with when spreading it in the pan. Next time I make this I think I will try a lemon cake mix because that sounds good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
WOW! Very easy to make and looks so decadent! I did use cherry pie filling, baked in pampered chef stoneware bar pan about 52 mins. Drizzled melted chocolate over the top. Great recipe. Will make again with other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Entered 09/14/09..What can I say? This is absolutely fabulous. For some reason, I had to leave it in the oven for about 10 minutes longer though. And I was wondering, does anyone know if this would freeze good? **Update**09/21/09..I made this this weekend using chocolate cake mix and cherry filling. I also cut the sugar down to 2 cups. So good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agapimou

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Didn't have any blueberry pie filling, so substituted cherry. Other than that, followed recipe exactly. The cake crust was a little overpowering, kind of like eating raw batter. Overall, pretty good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States