Blueberry Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MeganHaag
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Love them!!! They are so easy and watch the video also!Try them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
As usual, Chef John delivers a great recipe. I wanted a cookie bar for my favorite mechanics at our local Midas shop who love cookies. I don't do cookies well, and usually take them scones ( the Savoy recipe here at AR). After watching John's video, I thought these were a good compromise between cookies and scones. They turned out very well. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
These were fast, easy, and very delicious! My family really liked them (except one daughter who doesn't like blueberries). I don't have Chinese spice so used 1/8 tsp. nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. cinnamom. Thanks, and I enjoyed the video, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Absolutely delicious - I used blackberries which is what I had on hand, but I look forward to trying with blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Tasty...but very delicate shortbread. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Used chinese 5 spice powder as listed in recipe, shouldn't have. Gave the shortbread an unusual taste, kind of like bad breath aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I've made this recipe a couple of times. Huge kudos each time! I doubled the recipe and used a Pyrex 11 x 15 size pan. Worked perfect. I used frozen blueberries and subsituted the chinese five spice for 1 tsp. of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
outstanding and simple. have made these 3 times with various fruits. i place the pan under the broiler for a couple of mins. to brown before removing from the oven. once i accidentally threw the whole egg in and it was still very good--a little cakier and browner/crispier--try it. my fruit was very sweet so the additional egg white didn't throw off the amount of sugar used in the original recipe. i've made these bars with a pastry cutter but prefer the simplicity of the food processor. i sub 1/4 tsp of vanilla for 1/4 tsp of water and add it and the rest of the water in with the egg without a problem. thanks chef john!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I used salted butter, so I didn't need to add any more salt at the end. I also used cinnamon powder instead of Chinese five-spice. I'd tried to bake those great bars with different kind of fruit. They turned out perfectly everytime! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
great recipe!!!!! I used blackberries, which are my favorite (oh why must they be cursed with so many seeds?!) I liked this recipe because of the shortbread crunch at the bottom, it really set it apart from a usual crisp. I didnt have 5 spice, so I added nutmeg and cinnamon. I also added a bit of vanilla and 1 tablespoon water to the dough. I think I freaked out on the consistency of the dough, and I thought more water was needed, but it probably wasnt. It turned out great, and once all those little butter balls melted in the oven, the crust turned into crispy, buttery goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebb25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States