Blueberry Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
These were good, after reading a few reviews I omitted the five spice powder and added lemon zest. After sprinkling the 3/4 cup of berries it looked sparse so I added another 1/2 cup and truthfully it would have been better with even more. The crust was good, I used confectioners sugar. The overall taste was slightly dry and not quite sweet enough. Next tine I will sprinle sugar over the berry layer and drizzle with lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I made it as directed and it was not tasty at all. Next time, I will use brown sugar instead of white and cinnamon with a little lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I have made these several times. My favorite happens to be the blueberry shortbread bars. I doubled the recipe & baked it in my Pyrex 11 X 7 X 2 inch glass baking dish. It works wonderful. I like blueberries, I used more blueberries also. Cinnamon was my choice, too. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
They were ok, but as others said, they were a bit bland. I have an abundance of blueberries, but will probably not make these again any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Yummy and easy. Great for fresh blueberries and when you want something not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This was so easy to make and I also loved the the ingredients needed were already in my pantry! Everyone loved them. They came out not to sweet, a perfect finish to our first family picnic but these can also go well with coffee or tea. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
So yummy! Not too sweet, and so so good. My husband took 1 bite and said "ooh, this is a keeper". I didn't have Allspice, so I used 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg instead (per other reviewers). I used more berries, enough to make a full layer. I used 2 T of water, instead of 1. I used an 8x8 pan,and I baked it for 5 more minutes than called for. and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
These were delicious! Great thing is that you can use several different types of fruit. They were easy to make, easy to handle and easy to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Easy peasy! I just love this recipe. The shortbread crust is perfectly crunchy & crumbly, with a subtle touch of the Chinese 5 Spice making you ask "What makes this taste so good?" I used my food processor and I had to add a full tablespoon of ice cold water to get my shortbread to stay together. I attribute that to the weather as we live in a low humidity environment. It was in the oven in less than 10 minutes-2 hours to cool...I just ate 3 pieces! Thanks so much Chef John for the recipe and the video!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States