Blueberry Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Very good as is! Everyone loved it. Seved with a scoope of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Easy and delish. If you want very sweet add extra sugar, but if you want to taste blueberries leave recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was a quick and easy recipe. I doubled the recipe (I work in a hotel and was needing a quick recipe for weekend treats), and it was very convenient. The recipe was easy to follow. However, I would recommend adding a half-cup of brown sugar. The recipe is a little bland on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabbyvalenzuela

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
great recipe!!!!! I used blackberries, which are my favorite (oh why must they be cursed with so many seeds?!) I liked this recipe because of the shortbread crunch at the bottom, it really set it apart from a usual crisp. I didnt have 5 spice, so I added nutmeg and cinnamon. I also added a bit of vanilla and 1 tablespoon water to the dough. I think I freaked out on the consistency of the dough, and I thought more water was needed, but it probably wasnt. It turned out great, and once all those little butter balls melted in the oven, the crust turned into crispy, buttery goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebb25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I used salted butter, so I didn't need to add any more salt at the end. I also used cinnamon powder instead of Chinese five-spice. I'd tried to bake those great bars with different kind of fruit. They turned out perfectly everytime! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
outstanding and simple. have made these 3 times with various fruits. i place the pan under the broiler for a couple of mins. to brown before removing from the oven. once i accidentally threw the whole egg in and it was still very good--a little cakier and browner/crispier--try it. my fruit was very sweet so the additional egg white didn't throw off the amount of sugar used in the original recipe. i've made these bars with a pastry cutter but prefer the simplicity of the food processor. i sub 1/4 tsp of vanilla for 1/4 tsp of water and add it and the rest of the water in with the egg without a problem. thanks chef john!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I've made this recipe a couple of times. Huge kudos each time! I doubled the recipe and used a Pyrex 11 x 15 size pan. Worked perfect. I used frozen blueberries and subsituted the chinese five spice for 1 tsp. of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Used chinese 5 spice powder as listed in recipe, shouldn't have. Gave the shortbread an unusual taste, kind of like bad breath aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Tasty...but very delicate shortbread. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Absolutely delicious - I used blackberries which is what I had on hand, but I look forward to trying with blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States