Blueberry Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by creme_brulee
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
My boyfriend loves shortbread cookies and blueberries so when I came across this recipe I decided to give a try right away, and I'm so glad that I did! I made two modifications to this recipe. First, like some other users, I used nutmeg and cinnamon instead of Chinese 5 spice powder(I am Chinese myself, Chinese 5 spice powder is wonderful for cooking Chinese food, I'm just not sure if we are going to like the taste in bakery goods). Also, I used about 1 and 1/2 tsp ice water because I found I need that much to make the crumbs can be compressed together. I baked it for 30 mins and I think next time I'll start checking around 28 mins because the edge was a bit overdone in my opinion. Overall these blueberry shortbread bars taste amazingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I used about 2 1/4 c. blue berries...just cuz I had them & needed to use them. Sprinkled them with a bit of Truvia & shook the berries to coat. Used a 8 1/2 x 8 1/2 glass baking dish & it worked just fine. Had to bake for 55 minutes because of the extra berries. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
So easy and AMAZING flavor. The first time we didn't have the Chinese 5-spice and they were still good. The second time we had it and we also added some diced strawberries. It was amazing. Thanks again for another food wish granted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pleasant View, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I was looking for a recipe that was similar to this one but did not find it, so I just tweaked this one util I got something resembling what I was looking for... Instead of using blueberries I used strawberry jam and at the end, once it was completely cooled of, I sprinkled melted white chocolate on top. I made these to give as a Christmas present... It was highly appreciated! My boyfriend tasted it and asked if I really had to give it away! It will be definitely added to the family recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Frozen blueberries worked! I love the softness of the shortbread. My husband, colleagues loved it and wants the recipe. I used a glass 13'x9' bake pan & would cut down the baking time to 30 min. For the next time I'll bake this, I'm going to cut down the sugar by 1/3 as I want more of the blueberry sweetness! Thanks for the recipe! Punagirl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Just made this and it is awesome! So flaky and delicious. My kids and I just can't stop eating it. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
THESE WERE DESCENT! MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS ABSOLUTELY NEEDS MORE BLUEBERRY'S! I DID CHOP UP SOME PECANS AND SPRKINLKED OVER THE TOP JUST PERSONAL PREFERENCE!I WILL KEEP THIS RECIPE SAVED FOR THE FUTURE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This was very tasty. I would highly recommend watching the video for some great tips. It's really important to pat down the top layer or else it becomes very crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Milton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jeanzeigle'skitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
They are very good. A best keeper for sure. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanzeigle'skitchen
Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
These were delicious! I added more blueberries-I used fresh berries as they were on sale in July- than the recipe called for, but I also doubled the recipe and baked it in a lasgane pan. The shortbread is buttery and just the perfect texture and taste. Take your time cutting your pastry and it will turn out perfect. It just takes time to get to that consistency. I will definately be making this again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States