Blueberry Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I tried this recipe but found it hard to get the bars out of the pan after they cooled. It lacked much flavor. I would have used some almond extract instead for the shortbread crust and topping. They were still good for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Naina
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Good recipe. Didn't have any Chinese 5-spice powder (I'm not sure I'd want to put that in) so I used cinnamon instead. I added some lemon juice and vanilla to the dough but had to use a little bit more water than indicated. I also read that the squares weren't very sweet so I added a thin layer of blueberry syrup (SO YUM) before the fresh blueberries (which weren't nearly enough as the recipe indicated so I double them) and it turned out great! It's almost all gone already and I made them 3 hours ago. I think I'll be adding more blueberry syrup next time as it really made the squares pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynn Winegart
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I tried this recipe exchanging the spice powder for cinnamon. It was good but needs a little something to make the blueberries pop. Next time I'm going to try adding some lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Winegart
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, including using the chinese 5 spice. I was hestitant to how it would affect the flavor, but I actually like it a lot. These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
simple quick & delicious! cinnamon & nutmeg in place of Chinese five-spice powder, whatever that is! also added some strawberries to the topping.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
It taste better with less salt the first time I made this it was to salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This recipe turned out okay. I didn't have any blueberries on hand, so I ended up using raspberry jam. That was a little too sweet, so I threw in some lemon juice, and some cream cheese, just for fun. The filling turned out great, but what I didn't like was the crust. The egg and the baking powder made it cakey, and the crust was overall very bland. I will probably try these again, but I will use another crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Very good! The only thing I didn't have on hand was the 5 spice powder so I substituted allspice and it worked well. I did use more berries only to be able to use up what I had. Thanks again Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Made this recipe today and it was great! I only had enough blueberries for half the recipe so I didn't even use an egg yolk and it still turned out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I made this as is and it is Great!! Particularly to LJ HAWK: Our Spices, but particularly Chinese 5 spice MUST be Fresh. If you've had it for a year (or more) throw it out and buy a new one, when you're going to use it, not before*!* I sure hope this helps everyone enjoy the Chinese 5 spice idea more, it adds so much to this recipe. Why make another boring bar w/the expected spices?? Live dangerously; try something NEW*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States