Blueberry Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
its so delicious . I loved this recipe not too sweet exactly right. thanks chef jhon. God bless you cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
AMAZING!I made it just like the original recipe (with the exception I used frozen blueberries) and loved it. Definitely a keeper!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andies610
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Delicious! The only modifications I made were: 1.) I used pumpkin pie spice instead of the Chinese five-spice; 2.) I added about 1/2 tsp. more water and 1/4 tsp. almond extract to the crumb mix; and 3.) I used 2 cups of fresh blueberries (3/4 c. didn't even come close to covering the crust in a 9x9 pan). Don't be afraid of the crumbly/dry appearance of the crust mixture. If you give it a pinch with your fingers it should hold its shape. I served it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream but it holds its shape as a bar if you just want to eat it plain. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
So good and easy. I've even used frozen berries and it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Used a lot more blueberries then called for, made a thick layer and actually think it could have used more. Oddly, it was not so good the first day, but the next day... Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnOnnomus
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I followed this recipe almost exactly... I only didn't freeze the butter (it was cold enough from the fridge), and I added more blueberries, enough to make a full layer. I have made this twice, and it turns out perfect every time! This is my new favorite blueberry bar cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Lau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This recipe is tasty. however, I believe the "crust" needs more of a binding ingredient.my bars did not stay in one piece,they all fell apart-there was no sturdiness to the bottom crust whatsoever.Also the egg yolk does not disperse well into the crumb-which may be part of the issue. maybe it needs to be incorporated using a different technique
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I tried this recipe but found it hard to get the bars out of the pan after they cooled. It lacked much flavor. I would have used some almond extract instead for the shortbread crust and topping. They were still good for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Naina
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Good recipe. Didn't have any Chinese 5-spice powder (I'm not sure I'd want to put that in) so I used cinnamon instead. I added some lemon juice and vanilla to the dough but had to use a little bit more water than indicated. I also read that the squares weren't very sweet so I added a thin layer of blueberry syrup (SO YUM) before the fresh blueberries (which weren't nearly enough as the recipe indicated so I double them) and it turned out great! It's almost all gone already and I made them 3 hours ago. I think I'll be adding more blueberry syrup next time as it really made the squares pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynn Winegart
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I tried this recipe exchanging the spice powder for cinnamon. It was good but needs a little something to make the blueberries pop. Next time I'm going to try adding some lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Winegart
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States