Blueberry Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Used a lot more blueberries then called for, made a thick layer and actually think it could have used more. Oddly, it was not so good the first day, but the next day... Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnOnnomus
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I followed this recipe almost exactly... I only didn't freeze the butter (it was cold enough from the fridge), and I added more blueberries, enough to make a full layer. I have made this twice, and it turns out perfect every time! This is my new favorite blueberry bar cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Lau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This recipe is tasty. however, I believe the "crust" needs more of a binding ingredient.my bars did not stay in one piece,they all fell apart-there was no sturdiness to the bottom crust whatsoever.Also the egg yolk does not disperse well into the crumb-which may be part of the issue. maybe it needs to be incorporated using a different technique
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I tried this recipe but found it hard to get the bars out of the pan after they cooled. It lacked much flavor. I would have used some almond extract instead for the shortbread crust and topping. They were still good for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Naina
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Good recipe. Didn't have any Chinese 5-spice powder (I'm not sure I'd want to put that in) so I used cinnamon instead. I added some lemon juice and vanilla to the dough but had to use a little bit more water than indicated. I also read that the squares weren't very sweet so I added a thin layer of blueberry syrup (SO YUM) before the fresh blueberries (which weren't nearly enough as the recipe indicated so I double them) and it turned out great! It's almost all gone already and I made them 3 hours ago. I think I'll be adding more blueberry syrup next time as it really made the squares pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynn Winegart
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I tried this recipe exchanging the spice powder for cinnamon. It was good but needs a little something to make the blueberries pop. Next time I'm going to try adding some lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Winegart
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, including using the chinese 5 spice. I was hestitant to how it would affect the flavor, but I actually like it a lot. These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
simple quick & delicious! cinnamon & nutmeg in place of Chinese five-spice powder, whatever that is! also added some strawberries to the topping.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
It taste better with less salt the first time I made this it was to salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This recipe turned out okay. I didn't have any blueberries on hand, so I ended up using raspberry jam. That was a little too sweet, so I threw in some lemon juice, and some cream cheese, just for fun. The filling turned out great, but what I didn't like was the crust. The egg and the baking powder made it cakey, and the crust was overall very bland. I will probably try these again, but I will use another crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States