Blueberry Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I made these with fresh peaches for my hubby who doesn't like sweets very much. He actually likes them! They are lightly sweet and remind me of a hand held cobbler. Followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I made several alterations, so I couldn't give it a full five stars. I used a cinnamon/baking spice mix combo instead of Chinese five-spice, added ~1 tsp of lavender, and a drop or two of lemon extract with the water for mixing the crust. I think I could have kept this in the oven a bit longer as the blueberries hadn't burst yet, and maybe enough blueberries so they're just barely touching next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G-ma's Gal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I now know why this recipe has had so many 5-star reviews...it's simply GOOD! It's also very rich/filling, so I ended up cutting into bars, rather than squares. Thumbs up Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
its so delicious . I loved this recipe not too sweet exactly right. thanks chef jhon. God bless you cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
AMAZING!I made it just like the original recipe (with the exception I used frozen blueberries) and loved it. Definitely a keeper!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andies610
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Delicious! The only modifications I made were: 1.) I used pumpkin pie spice instead of the Chinese five-spice; 2.) I added about 1/2 tsp. more water and 1/4 tsp. almond extract to the crumb mix; and 3.) I used 2 cups of fresh blueberries (3/4 c. didn't even come close to covering the crust in a 9x9 pan). Don't be afraid of the crumbly/dry appearance of the crust mixture. If you give it a pinch with your fingers it should hold its shape. I served it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream but it holds its shape as a bar if you just want to eat it plain. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
So good and easy. I've even used frozen berries and it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Used a lot more blueberries then called for, made a thick layer and actually think it could have used more. Oddly, it was not so good the first day, but the next day... Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnOnnomus
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I followed this recipe almost exactly... I only didn't freeze the butter (it was cold enough from the fridge), and I added more blueberries, enough to make a full layer. I have made this twice, and it turns out perfect every time! This is my new favorite blueberry bar cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Lau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This recipe is tasty. however, I believe the "crust" needs more of a binding ingredient.my bars did not stay in one piece,they all fell apart-there was no sturdiness to the bottom crust whatsoever.Also the egg yolk does not disperse well into the crumb-which may be part of the issue. maybe it needs to be incorporated using a different technique
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States