Blueberry Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by weatherfan
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
I have a weakness for shortbread. As it happens I also have a weakness for blueberries. This probably couldn't be any better. Used cinnamon and nutmeg instead as my spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weatherfan
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I made these with fresh peaches for my hubby who doesn't like sweets very much. He actually likes them! They are lightly sweet and remind me of a hand held cobbler. Followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I made several alterations, so I couldn't give it a full five stars. I used a cinnamon/baking spice mix combo instead of Chinese five-spice, added ~1 tsp of lavender, and a drop or two of lemon extract with the water for mixing the crust. I think I could have kept this in the oven a bit longer as the blueberries hadn't burst yet, and maybe enough blueberries so they're just barely touching next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G-ma's Gal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I now know why this recipe has had so many 5-star reviews...it's simply GOOD! It's also very rich/filling, so I ended up cutting into bars, rather than squares. Thumbs up Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
its so delicious . I loved this recipe not too sweet exactly right. thanks chef jhon. God bless you cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
AMAZING!I made it just like the original recipe (with the exception I used frozen blueberries) and loved it. Definitely a keeper!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andies610
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Delicious! The only modifications I made were: 1.) I used pumpkin pie spice instead of the Chinese five-spice; 2.) I added about 1/2 tsp. more water and 1/4 tsp. almond extract to the crumb mix; and 3.) I used 2 cups of fresh blueberries (3/4 c. didn't even come close to covering the crust in a 9x9 pan). Don't be afraid of the crumbly/dry appearance of the crust mixture. If you give it a pinch with your fingers it should hold its shape. I served it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream but it holds its shape as a bar if you just want to eat it plain. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
So good and easy. I've even used frozen berries and it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Used a lot more blueberries then called for, made a thick layer and actually think it could have used more. Oddly, it was not so good the first day, but the next day... Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnOnnomus
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I followed this recipe almost exactly... I only didn't freeze the butter (it was cold enough from the fridge), and I added more blueberries, enough to make a full layer. I have made this twice, and it turns out perfect every time! This is my new favorite blueberry bar cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Lau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States