Blueberry Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This recipe turned out okay. I didn't have any blueberries on hand, so I ended up using raspberry jam. That was a little too sweet, so I threw in some lemon juice, and some cream cheese, just for fun. The filling turned out great, but what I didn't like was the crust. The egg and the baking powder made it cakey, and the crust was overall very bland. I will probably try these again, but I will use another crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Very good! The only thing I didn't have on hand was the 5 spice powder so I substituted allspice and it worked well. I did use more berries only to be able to use up what I had. Thanks again Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Made this recipe today and it was great! I only had enough blueberries for half the recipe so I didn't even use an egg yolk and it still turned out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I made this as is and it is Great!! Particularly to LJ HAWK: Our Spices, but particularly Chinese 5 spice MUST be Fresh. If you've had it for a year (or more) throw it out and buy a new one, when you're going to use it, not before*!* I sure hope this helps everyone enjoy the Chinese 5 spice idea more, it adds so much to this recipe. Why make another boring bar w/the expected spices?? Live dangerously; try something NEW*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Great recipe!!! I used cherries and it came out wonderful! I didn't use the Chinese 5 spice though, just cinnamon. Not a fan of cloves or anise :-P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Galeton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunny Sonja
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Tasty and easy-to-make bars! I made them with blueberries and strawberries, but they got a bit soggy. I put them in the fridge after cooling off on the counter for awhile, and they were refreshing and a bit more solid. I will definitely make them again soon since they are almost gone, and I just made them. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny Sonja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Received many accolades on my version of this recipe. I added a mixture of unsweetened almond milk and sifted confectioners sugar drizzled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
These were fast,simple, and DELICIOUS! To top it off they taste even BETTER the next day. This recipe is an absolute keeper. I only had cinnamon at the moment of preparing the recipe so I went with that only and they ended up yummy! I used the amount of blueberries the recipe calls for and honestly I think you need abit more. I used the whole pint and avoided the dough to become big crumbs.This will depend on how cold is the butter. I also had to use a bit more water and very cold. Your best guide to know you got the dough ready is to check that the it does not stick to the bowl and keeps sort of small loose crumbs close to powdery texture. This will make it easier for you to assemble. By doing this you can use half of the dough for the bottom. Do not be afraid of feeling like it is not enough amount of dough when setting the bottom what is important is to be able to layer it as flat as possible,then cover with the layer of the berries and sprinkle the rest of the dough like if it were sprinkles. You will notice the look will be just as fantastic as it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
My husband loves this recipe. He wants me to make these with other fruit,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
So delicious! It was gone after one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States