Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I agree that the dough felt too wet. However, I stuck with the recipe and had delicious, soft and moist scones with golden crust as the result. I made them as circular scones, but we'll try shaping the dough into a rectangle as suggested by others next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I followed this recipe to the letter and they came out perfect. Dough was not too wet or too dry so I don't know why there have been other complaints. Just tried one fresh from the oven and it was perfect, just sweet enough. Enjoyed with my English breakfast tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RealTime
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This recipe made a good number of scones... They could have used some vanilla to add flavor. I did add some Turbinado Cane Sugar on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealTime

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Easy to make and the finished product looked like the picture! Took the advice of one of the reviewers to decrease the cream to a little over 1/2 cup and add vanilla and cream of tarter. Maybe not the classic Irish scone but had scones like these in Ireland recently. Enjoy some variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I've made this recipe a few times, first time I followed the instructions to the letter, It was wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by martha
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I love this recipe!! Iv made this recipe twice and I'll do it again the first time I made this I had the same problem with the dough being to moist but once I floured a surface and flattened it out it was easy to work with they came out great!!!!! Now the second time I made these I didn't even cut them I just grabbed a big ole table spoon and glopped em onto a baking sheet I also added a little more butter n cinnamon and did strawberries ohh I also added a little flax seed n applesauce I stead of egg they turned out extrodinary thanks very much for this delicious recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Made these for Christmas morning breakfast. I used almond milk and butter substitute because my son has a milk allergy. They turned out great! I typically like my scones a little more dry than these but they are still really good. I also used frozen wild blueberries. I did read the directions wrong and only made one round cut into sixths but they still baked up great with only 5 extra minutes. Next time I'll make the correct size and amount and maybe they will be more the consistency I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teetee830

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
All u need to do is add lil bit of flour to this recipe to make it more pliable & flour ur hands when handling it. Also, I did add 1/2 tsp of Almond Extract which gave it a subtle, yet tasty flavor & aroma! They go great w/hot coffee in the morning...or a cup of milk, warm or cold!! Yum! I always put a pat of butter on mine & sometimes a tsp of jam, blueberry tastes great on these scones!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
The first time I made these I added the blueberries to the flour mixture as the recipe states. Then when I kneaded, of course, all the blueberries burst and I had blue scones. Still good, but not very attractive. This time I added after I had added milk / eggs and kneaded VERY gently a couple of times then I added fresh blueberries and VERY gently incorporated them into the dough. They turned out so pretty and not blue! The whole family loved these. So easy and fast. I will make again. I also made a thin glaze with powdered sugar, a little milk and melted butter. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
These turned out AMAZING. I've had mixed luck with scones in the past, either dry or dense or bland, but these were perfect. I did use heavy cream in place of half&half (it's what I had on hand) and I was just shy of a cup of blueberries, but otherwise followed the recipe and the results were absolutely delectable! Light and flaky and buttery and moist. They were even good a few days later, cold! No need for extra butter or jam on these babies, they were just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States