Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
These were delicious! I followed the recipe and while the dough was a little sticky, it was manageable. After mixing it I put it in the refrigerator for about 10-15 minutes which helped the scones keep their shape and rise beautifully. I brushed the tops with cream and sprinkled with sugar before baking to add a nice finish. Quick, easy recipe with delicious results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I made these only I used white sugar, 1/3 cup of heavy cream and 2 eggs, because that is what I had on hand - the dough is sticky, but that is ok you add a little extra flour to pat the ball of dough into a circle or square about 1 inch thick then cut into triangles, brush some cream on top and sprinkle with extra white sugar before baking. Scones are not meant to be super sweet, they are good with butter and jam, or lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandytd
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
The dough is very wet as others have stated. I added a little extra flour and shaped them on the baking sheet instead of cutting into wedges because the mixture was far too wet. All in all it tastes pretty good especially topped with a blueberry syrup or sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Good basic recipe. Made the following changes from necessity and for preference. Didn't have any cream. Used half and half mix of sour cream and skim milk for that liquid, plus a couple TBS of buttermilk powder. Added a cup of dried blueberries along with cup of fresh called for. Added 1/8 C brown sugar to the 1/4 called for. Brushed tops with milk and sprinkled with Demerara sugar before baking. They turned out great. Yes we like our scones a little sweeter. Not sure why the complaints re texture, they were great. Crunchy outside moist inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Kalby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I agree that the dough felt too wet. However, I stuck with the recipe and had delicious, soft and moist scones with golden crust as the result. I made them as circular scones, but we'll try shaping the dough into a rectangle as suggested by others next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I followed this recipe to the letter and they came out perfect. Dough was not too wet or too dry so I don't know why there have been other complaints. Just tried one fresh from the oven and it was perfect, just sweet enough. Enjoyed with my English breakfast tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RealTime
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This recipe made a good number of scones... They could have used some vanilla to add flavor. I did add some Turbinado Cane Sugar on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealTime

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Easy to make and the finished product looked like the picture! Took the advice of one of the reviewers to decrease the cream to a little over 1/2 cup and add vanilla and cream of tarter. Maybe not the classic Irish scone but had scones like these in Ireland recently. Enjoy some variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I've made this recipe a few times, first time I followed the instructions to the letter, It was wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by martha
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I love this recipe!! Iv made this recipe twice and I'll do it again the first time I made this I had the same problem with the dough being to moist but once I floured a surface and flattened it out it was easy to work with they came out great!!!!! Now the second time I made these I didn't even cut them I just grabbed a big ole table spoon and glopped em onto a baking sheet I also added a little more butter n cinnamon and did strawberries ohh I also added a little flax seed n applesauce I stead of egg they turned out extrodinary thanks very much for this delicious recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States