Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I love blueberry scones, but every time I try to make them, the dough is either too wet, or so bread-like that the blueberries get crushed in the kneading. While this dough was a little too sticky to knead (I ended up adding about 1/3 cup flour during kneading), it turned out great. The scones are so delicious, moister than most I can get in stores. I did also add a little vanilla extract. But honestly, this is going to be my basic scone recipe from now on. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Chase City, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
These are literally the best scones I've ever had! I had to be a little careful, because my oven cooks faster than most, so I had to take it out 5 minutes early, but each scone came out golden and delicious! The batter was a little drier than I thought it would be so I had some "batter crumbs" left behind, but honestly, the end product was SO worth it. I'm a college student, and new to baking, and b/c of my limited income, some recipes have ingredients that are too expensive, but this one actually wasn't, and now I don't have to pay ridiculous prices at the local bakery for a good scone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
It's missing something... maybe lemon? Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I love this recipe, the only thing I did differently, was substitute buttermilk instead of cream for a bit of a tang. I also just dropped them on a greased cookie sheet and get rave reviews. Why bother making them into triangles, they are to die for and so easy to put together. Won't use another recipe and as far as not sweet enough, check out other recipes that call for much less sugar, obviously scones aren't supposed to be too sweet, but these are perfect sweetness. I highly recommend this and am sticking with this recipe from now on! They are crunchy on the outside and fluffy on the inside! I have varied this recipe using rasberries and bananas together and my next try is with cinnamon chips for an autumn flair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Great recipe, first time making scones and these came out great. The dough is a little sticky, just rub a little flour on your hands. You barley need to kneed it anyway. I did need to add a few TBS of extra cream, but otherwise yummmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moberther

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was my first attempt at making scones and I thought this was a wonderful recipe! Easy to put together and tasted delicious. Yes, the batter was really moist and cutting it wasn't so easy but the end product was perfect so I don't really mind what the shape is. My son and husband both loved them! Definitely a keeper. Can't wait to try with raspberries and white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I LOVE this recipe... I do add more flour to it because it is a wetter consistency but I like to stick the dough in muffin tins to make a nice round shape. Regardless, they taste amazing and you can do several variations on it... I like using strawberries :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
great recipie, really easy. I followed the advise of some previous reviews and use 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I also used almond milk instead of half n half. I also added about 1/2 cup white chocolate chunks. Very good. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I thought these were excellent and easy if you are not worried about shaping. I ended up cooking them in mounds and they turned out great. They looked nice as well. I used milk instead of cream only because that is what I had on hand. I sprinkled sugar on top as suggested by others. These are the perfect breakfast scone...not too sweet. I look forward to making them with raspberries and white chocolate...my favourite scone at my local bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
It is a very good and simple recipe. I made it for the first time a couple of days ago. We love them. The only change I made was using self rising flour instead of plain with baking powder. Again we love them. I also froze 6 of the 12 as a test since it's just the 2 of us it would be nice to have them later. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States