Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I love this recipe, the only thing I did differently, was substitute buttermilk instead of cream for a bit of a tang. I also just dropped them on a greased cookie sheet and get rave reviews. Why bother making them into triangles, they are to die for and so easy to put together. Won't use another recipe and as far as not sweet enough, check out other recipes that call for much less sugar, obviously scones aren't supposed to be too sweet, but these are perfect sweetness. I highly recommend this and am sticking with this recipe from now on! They are crunchy on the outside and fluffy on the inside! I have varied this recipe using rasberries and bananas together and my next try is with cinnamon chips for an autumn flair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Great recipe, first time making scones and these came out great. The dough is a little sticky, just rub a little flour on your hands. You barley need to kneed it anyway. I did need to add a few TBS of extra cream, but otherwise yummmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moberther

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was my first attempt at making scones and I thought this was a wonderful recipe! Easy to put together and tasted delicious. Yes, the batter was really moist and cutting it wasn't so easy but the end product was perfect so I don't really mind what the shape is. My son and husband both loved them! Definitely a keeper. Can't wait to try with raspberries and white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I LOVE this recipe... I do add more flour to it because it is a wetter consistency but I like to stick the dough in muffin tins to make a nice round shape. Regardless, they taste amazing and you can do several variations on it... I like using strawberries :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
great recipie, really easy. I followed the advise of some previous reviews and use 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I also used almond milk instead of half n half. I also added about 1/2 cup white chocolate chunks. Very good. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I thought these were excellent and easy if you are not worried about shaping. I ended up cooking them in mounds and they turned out great. They looked nice as well. I used milk instead of cream only because that is what I had on hand. I sprinkled sugar on top as suggested by others. These are the perfect breakfast scone...not too sweet. I look forward to making them with raspberries and white chocolate...my favourite scone at my local bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
It is a very good and simple recipe. I made it for the first time a couple of days ago. We love them. The only change I made was using self rising flour instead of plain with baking powder. Again we love them. I also froze 6 of the 12 as a test since it's just the 2 of us it would be nice to have them later. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I've made lots of scones in my years, but this one just didn't do it for me. There isn't much flavor and the texture is not that of a scone. A blueberry breakfast cake might be a better title for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It is gooy, tasteless mess. Not enough sugar to even tell there is any in it. Not enough flour to make a decent dough. A major disappointment on all level that you would expect from a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Excellent recipe! Some reveiws say the dough was soggy. It wasn't for me! I did double the brown sugar, and it wasn't too sweet. It could also use more salt a perhaps a touch of cinnamon. But the bluberries were nice and juicy! I tried out "drop-scones" as another reveiws teaches. Like drop-biscuits you spoon out the batter onto a greased cook sheet. It turned out wonderful! I'm surely going to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States