Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Made these last night...quick, easy, and yummy! I was a little hesitant to make these after reading that the dough was too wet...but the recipe looked too easy NOT to try :) I followed the directions exactly, yes, the dough was a little sticky but really not difficult to work with. Sweetness was just right, you don't want them too sugary, and I could taste the blueberry flavor. I did make a vanilla glaze to drizzle over top after they were done just in case my husband wanted more sweetness....but I prefer them plain, and he liked them both ways. I'll be making these again, and probably try them with raspberries, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe, easy to customize if you stick with the "rules" that some of the other experienced bakers have mentioned. I believe the reason that the recipe calls for adding the cream/egg mixture slowly is to be certain only the amount necessary is added. Anyway, I used this recipe as my base for making: blueberry/lemon (added the zest of 1 large lemon), cinnamon/raisin, cherry/chocolate and the crowd favorite pear/ginger. I also added vanilla and freshly grated nutmeg to the c/r and p/g scones...WOW!!!! A big hit. I received nearly a dozen requests for the recipe. Another trick I use to be certain that the butter isn't too soft by the time it goes into the oven, I freeze a stick and grate it into the recipe when it is called for. Fresh blueberries (or any fruit) must be blotted after washing. This is a crowd-pleaser recipe and on a chilly morning, with coffee or tea, its a perfect little side of warmth. Off I go to bake a batch right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
We read the reviews that said it was easier to use the drop method, as the dough was sticky. We tried both the drop method and rolling it out/cutting it, with a little extra flour. Both were good. We liked the drop ones slightly better, as it gave them an appealing texture on the top. Next time, I'd try 1.5 cups of blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I made this recipe three times today and each time I adjusted to my taste. Those who stated dough was too sticky could add more flour or could use dried blueberries that release less liquid. It is a solid basic recipe that is quick and homemade from scratch! What's not to love about that? And FYI, scones are not supposed to be super sweet. The amount of sugar was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
(quote from my 3 y/0) "Mommy, these are even better than the cookies!" That being said, I would agree with other posters who suggest cutting a little of the liquid (just a little) to make the dough easier to work with. I will also sprinkle the tops with raw sugar before baking next time. Using frozen berries makes the preparation a dream! I will make this often--wonderful for a brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was my first try making scones before, even though I've eaten them in the past. I wanted to learn how to make them myself, but as I'm an amateur cook, I wanted a basic recipe that even someone like me could follow without too much confusion. The scones turned out great! Sure, the preparation process is very messy. The dough is very wet to handle, but if you coat your hands in some flour this remedies the problem. Also, the blueberries tended to break as I mixed the dough together. It ended up not being a big deal, but in the future I may try using frozen blueberries. The dough isn't all that sweet either, which is fine, but I also sprinkled some sugar on top before baking to give them a little something. I put my scones on parchment paper just in case they stuck to the pan, and they came off like a charm. Anyway, high praise for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
These are really good scones, however, I cut back on the liquid as well. I probably used just less than 2/3 c. half and half. I also added lemon zest. This is probably not a good recipe for someone who has never made scones unless they read the reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Tasty, but needed MUCH more flour. Mixed it in on the kneading counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURALEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedalia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I love blueberry scones, but every time I try to make them, the dough is either too wet, or so bread-like that the blueberries get crushed in the kneading. While this dough was a little too sticky to knead (I ended up adding about 1/3 cup flour during kneading), it turned out great. The scones are so delicious, moister than most I can get in stores. I did also add a little vanilla extract. But honestly, this is going to be my basic scone recipe from now on. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Chase City, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
These are literally the best scones I've ever had! I had to be a little careful, because my oven cooks faster than most, so I had to take it out 5 minutes early, but each scone came out golden and delicious! The batter was a little drier than I thought it would be so I had some "batter crumbs" left behind, but honestly, the end product was SO worth it. I'm a college student, and new to baking, and b/c of my limited income, some recipes have ingredients that are too expensive, but this one actually wasn't, and now I don't have to pay ridiculous prices at the local bakery for a good scone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States