Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
My neighbor the fuss budget says its even better than the King Arthur mixes we buy - lighter and tastier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I just made these this morning with the last of our fresh blueberries! ,followed the recipe. As for complaints about lack of sweetness/taste....I found these very authentic tasting based on lots of time spent, and scones eaten in England and Scotland. The "scones" served at Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts are the imposters...THESE are the real deal :) Yes, the dough was sticky....but that doesn't really matter because you don't need to handle the dough very much. I divided it and placed each lump on a moderately floured board and pressed it lightly into a circle (put flour on my hands so it didn't stick) and cut with a floured knife. very simple! I brushed the tops with cream, as noted in other recipes I have made. When cooled, I drizzled with a lemon glaze (confectioners sugar and fresh lemon juice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This was the first time I've ever made scones and chose this recipe because of the simplicity. I absolutely loved the scones! Not too sweet and with fresh blueberries the flavor was amazing! I will definitely save this recipe to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
My husband & I didn't care for this recipe at all. Batter was a sticky mess & it was a relatively flavorless product. Ended up with "muffins" because the dough was so sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer.Harrison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marinwood, California, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Made these last night...quick, easy, and yummy! I was a little hesitant to make these after reading that the dough was too wet...but the recipe looked too easy NOT to try :) I followed the directions exactly, yes, the dough was a little sticky but really not difficult to work with. Sweetness was just right, you don't want them too sugary, and I could taste the blueberry flavor. I did make a vanilla glaze to drizzle over top after they were done just in case my husband wanted more sweetness....but I prefer them plain, and he liked them both ways. I'll be making these again, and probably try them with raspberries, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe, easy to customize if you stick with the "rules" that some of the other experienced bakers have mentioned. I believe the reason that the recipe calls for adding the cream/egg mixture slowly is to be certain only the amount necessary is added. Anyway, I used this recipe as my base for making: blueberry/lemon (added the zest of 1 large lemon), cinnamon/raisin, cherry/chocolate and the crowd favorite pear/ginger. I also added vanilla and freshly grated nutmeg to the c/r and p/g scones...WOW!!!! A big hit. I received nearly a dozen requests for the recipe. Another trick I use to be certain that the butter isn't too soft by the time it goes into the oven, I freeze a stick and grate it into the recipe when it is called for. Fresh blueberries (or any fruit) must be blotted after washing. This is a crowd-pleaser recipe and on a chilly morning, with coffee or tea, its a perfect little side of warmth. Off I go to bake a batch right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
We read the reviews that said it was easier to use the drop method, as the dough was sticky. We tried both the drop method and rolling it out/cutting it, with a little extra flour. Both were good. We liked the drop ones slightly better, as it gave them an appealing texture on the top. Next time, I'd try 1.5 cups of blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I made this recipe three times today and each time I adjusted to my taste. Those who stated dough was too sticky could add more flour or could use dried blueberries that release less liquid. It is a solid basic recipe that is quick and homemade from scratch! What's not to love about that? And FYI, scones are not supposed to be super sweet. The amount of sugar was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
(quote from my 3 y/0) "Mommy, these are even better than the cookies!" That being said, I would agree with other posters who suggest cutting a little of the liquid (just a little) to make the dough easier to work with. I will also sprinkle the tops with raw sugar before baking next time. Using frozen berries makes the preparation a dream! I will make this often--wonderful for a brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was my first try making scones before, even though I've eaten them in the past. I wanted to learn how to make them myself, but as I'm an amateur cook, I wanted a basic recipe that even someone like me could follow without too much confusion. The scones turned out great! Sure, the preparation process is very messy. The dough is very wet to handle, but if you coat your hands in some flour this remedies the problem. Also, the blueberries tended to break as I mixed the dough together. It ended up not being a big deal, but in the future I may try using frozen blueberries. The dough isn't all that sweet either, which is fine, but I also sprinkled some sugar on top before baking to give them a little something. I put my scones on parchment paper just in case they stuck to the pan, and they came off like a charm. Anyway, high praise for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States