Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Fantastic! I didn't have any half-and-half handy, so I used a combination of 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt and a 1/2 cup low-fat milk, which worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Great recipe! I took the advice from another post and substitued the cream with vanilla yogurt and also added some vanilla extract to give it some extra flavour without too much sweetness. This was a big hit with my family and will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
It was the night before Mother's Day and I wanted to bake something nice for my mom for her day. Now, I know one thing for certain about my mom. She LOVES scones. I don't know anything about how to make scones, so I turn to my handy smartphone and search for blueberry scones. That's her favourite kind. This popped up with great reviews so I drove down to the store and grabbed some ingredients. I was so surprised at how easy this was to make. When I went to get the blueberries from my fridge, though, I discovered I didn't have any. Because I had already made the dough, though, I formed the scones and threw them into the oven anyways. I was scared at the end results without the blueberries. When i tested one, though, it was delicious. It truly is a tasty recipe even without the blueberries. Next time I have a friend over, I will definitely be making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Yum!! After reading the reviews, and since this was my first time ever to make scones. I only added a 1/2 cup of the half and half. Since a lot of people said that it was too wet. So only using 1/2 cup was perfect. I will make these again. They were very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jayden348
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This recipe is awesome exactly as written. For those having trouble here are my thoughts... Stir the dough literally JUST enough to combine dry ingredients...barely. For the kneeding part...I didn't...just smushed it against the side of the bowl GENTLY twice or three times until it made a ball. The warmth in your hands melts your chilled butter! You need chunks in there for an excellent product! Hockey pucks do not make good eats...even with coffee! And coffee can save anything! Seriously, though, dont bake them rock hard. Mine were just brown on the bottom and bottom edge. When I picked them up off the cookie sheet...which I did spray with Baker's Joy...they felt like they might crumble apart if I manhandled them. Just grab shaggy handfuls of dough...resist the urge to shape. Put the "lumps" on the cookie sheet and bake. I used the seeds of 1 1/2 real vanilla beans in mine...yummy! Next time I will increase a little. The vanilla adds a hint of natural sweetness which is lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This recipe was so simple to make, and the scones were wonderful to eat !!! Thanks for posting this !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I wanted a more savory blueberry treat than muffins, and decided to try this. This is a great scones recipe! Reading the reviews, I decided to cut the liquid and add 1/2 cup yogurt and 1 egg instead. But the batter was too dry, so I ended up adding 1/4 cup of milk after all, bringing the liquid up to what the recipe called for. Like our southern biscuits, scone batter should be very sticky, and barely hold together. I floured my hands and worked the dough gently into scone shapes rather than trying to cut it. Came out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Micanopy, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
DId mine GF and added a couple tbs of non dairy vanilla creamer to give it a hint. Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Just had these for breakfast and they were great. Made as directed and dropped the batter into a scone pan. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
My neighbor the fuss budget says its even better than the King Arthur mixes we buy - lighter and tastier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States