Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I added about 1/4 cup extra flour and 1/8 cup extra sugar and sprinkled sugar on top. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
added more sugar and blueberries the second time through
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I made these using a gluten free flour mixture for the all-purpose (1/2 c each of chickpea, tapioca, asian white and millet flour, plus 2 t xatham gum) and they turned out very tasty! (I did sprinkle a bit of cinnamon sugar on top, but otherwise followed everything up to the kneading part.) They aren't the prettiest scones I've seen, but everyone really likes them! I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
These scones were good. Obviously those who gave it a bad review do not understand that scones...are not meant to be overly sweet. If that is what you are going for bake something else. I used heavy cream, added tsp of vanilla, topped with brushed cream before baking and little sugar. The dough was not too mushy....just like it should be and it is cutable....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
These were absolutely delicious! I didn't pre-sift the flour beforehand, so that extra little bit was enough to give the correct texture. I used old fashioned brown sugar and dusted them with white sugar prior to baking. This is my new favorite blueberry scone recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Not exactly what I was looking for. I wish they were a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
These scones are very delicious. The dough was perfect for me. I wonder if people had trouble with the dough being too soft or wet live in warmer and more humid climates or didn't keep the dough chilled. The amount of the sugar is probably OK for store-bought blueberries. If you are used to very sweet baked goods, you need extra sugar. I used wild blueberries and they were too sour, so I added sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
It's all right. It did need more flour, but with more flower came more of a cakey taste and it overpowered the taste of the berries. So I was left with no choice but to add a glaze that I made up from the top of my head. There too wet and don't have enough sweetness to them. Definitely use frozen berries, brush the tops with some melted butter and some sugar in the raw for a second attempt. It's a good starting point recipe but needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I doubled the blueberries, and didn't use any butter (the directions didn't say when to add it, so I didn't), yet still amazing since we ate them right out of the oven. They are not very sweet at all, which I liked. Also, I made them as drop cookies, the dough is too sticky to use any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarans93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
These were delicious! Scones aren't suppose to be sweet, therefore the raters who gave it poor scores for lack of sweetness don't understand how a scone is suppose to taste. These tasted just like the scones I use to eat in London. Yes, they were a bit sticky when I spooned them on to the baking sheet, but it wasn't a mess as some described. I did use non fat greek yogurt in place of the half and half since I had the yogurt and not half and half. I did not use salt. I also cut the recipe in half using a small size egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States