Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Followed the recipe to the letter. Dough was VERY sticky...couldn't even knead it. They rose immensely high, and tasted very floury...I'm looking for another recipe! Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamms, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Not a good recipe they are very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I made a batch of these this morning, they are good! I also added 1/2 sugar, a little vanilla and extra flour, used whipping cream instead of half-and-half. I did not find them runny at all and they turned out like scones should look. I also brushed the tops with butter and sprinkled a little cane sugar on the tops. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
These were GREAT! As another reviewer mentioned, I don't understand why others are giving this recipe a bad rating either!!! I loved it! I shaped in the two circles and cut the slices and it was delicious. I made a powdered sugar glaze to go over the top. Some mentioned that they couldn't shape the dough, but it worked fine for me. It was a little sticky, but I just sprinkled some flour on it to help with that. Will definitely make again! My husband loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Gwin
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I added about 1/4 cup extra flour and 1/8 cup extra sugar and sprinkled sugar on top. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
added more sugar and blueberries the second time through
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I made these using a gluten free flour mixture for the all-purpose (1/2 c each of chickpea, tapioca, asian white and millet flour, plus 2 t xatham gum) and they turned out very tasty! (I did sprinkle a bit of cinnamon sugar on top, but otherwise followed everything up to the kneading part.) They aren't the prettiest scones I've seen, but everyone really likes them! I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
These scones were good. Obviously those who gave it a bad review do not understand that scones...are not meant to be overly sweet. If that is what you are going for bake something else. I used heavy cream, added tsp of vanilla, topped with brushed cream before baking and little sugar. The dough was not too mushy....just like it should be and it is cutable....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
These were absolutely delicious! I didn't pre-sift the flour beforehand, so that extra little bit was enough to give the correct texture. I used old fashioned brown sugar and dusted them with white sugar prior to baking. This is my new favorite blueberry scone recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Not exactly what I was looking for. I wish they were a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States