Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Not exactly what I was looking for. I wish they were a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
These scones are very delicious. The dough was perfect for me. I wonder if people had trouble with the dough being too soft or wet live in warmer and more humid climates or didn't keep the dough chilled. The amount of the sugar is probably OK for store-bought blueberries. If you are used to very sweet baked goods, you need extra sugar. I used wild blueberries and they were too sour, so I added sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
It's all right. It did need more flour, but with more flower came more of a cakey taste and it overpowered the taste of the berries. So I was left with no choice but to add a glaze that I made up from the top of my head. There too wet and don't have enough sweetness to them. Definitely use frozen berries, brush the tops with some melted butter and some sugar in the raw for a second attempt. It's a good starting point recipe but needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I doubled the blueberries, and didn't use any butter (the directions didn't say when to add it, so I didn't), yet still amazing since we ate them right out of the oven. They are not very sweet at all, which I liked. Also, I made them as drop cookies, the dough is too sticky to use any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarans93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
These were delicious! Scones aren't suppose to be sweet, therefore the raters who gave it poor scores for lack of sweetness don't understand how a scone is suppose to taste. These tasted just like the scones I use to eat in London. Yes, they were a bit sticky when I spooned them on to the baking sheet, but it wasn't a mess as some described. I did use non fat greek yogurt in place of the half and half since I had the yogurt and not half and half. I did not use salt. I also cut the recipe in half using a small size egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These were delicious! I added a little extra brown sugar because I like a sweet scone. The dough was wet, so you can't really shape them, just dollup them on the baking sheet...but YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
These worried me because it was so sticky but I went through with baking and they were quite good. They did need a little sweetening so I dusted with powered sugar.....yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Good recipe depending on what you are looking for. These are very moist and good, but I was looking for scones that aren't so moist, like the ones at GlenLaurel Inn in Hocking Hills. There is no way these can be rolled out, I dropped them them on the cookie sheet like drop biscuits and then shaped them. They were a hit with my family, just not exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
These scones were a big hit. I did not have the problem of the dough being too moist. It was quite dry actually and came together perfectly. I followed the recipe very closely!! I also did not grease my baking sheet and they came off perfectly!! Easy to cut and after about 25 mins of baking they were done just right! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This tasted great. Next time I'm going to dust them with large-grain sugar, and grease or flour the cookie sheet becuase they stuck to the bottom pretty bad. My only hesitation to recommend this is that the dough was so sticky I made a bit of a mess getting them shaped and onto the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States