Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly the first time. The second time, I substituted 1.5 apples and1.5 teaspoons of cinnamon for the blueberries. I added the apple/cinnamon mixture just before shaping the dough. The apple scones are the best, while the blueberry scones are tart. I would recommend making this recipe with apples. I make these almost every weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These were so simple and easy to make and they are delicious! My dough was too sticky to handle so I just dropped large spoonfuls of dough onto the cookie sheet and they turned out fabulous. All I did differently was added a bit more blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
these were perfect - I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Musella-Fling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Its a fine recipe. I suggest just a bit of flavoring extract, like vanilla, almond or lemon. Then I would give it that 5th star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serenity

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
These scones were delicious! I did make a few changes. I didn't have fresh blueberries, I used frozen. I used french vanilla coffee creamer, instead of the half and half, added about 1/3 cup more flour and a little lemon zest. I also dusted the tops with white sugar and pressed it in with my finger. I had to bake them about 3-4 mins. longer than the recipe said, but the outcome was fantastic. Can't tell you how good they are...just try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Live Oak, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
The "dough" was very sticky and gooey but the scones turned out a little dry. I will probably put more butter in next time. These tasted fantastic and I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellyanah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This is really great. I lightened it up a bit by using 3 Tablespoons of butter and substituting buttermilk for the half-and half. When using buttermilk, I had to add 1/2 teaspoon baking soda and reduce the baking powder to 1 teaspoon. I also added 1/4 cup flour. Frozen blueberries should not be defrosted, if using. When mixing, I made a well in the center of the dry ingredients, poured in the liquid and gently stirred together from the edges of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Followed the recipe to the letter. Dough was VERY sticky...couldn't even knead it. They rose immensely high, and tasted very floury...I'm looking for another recipe! Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamms, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Not a good recipe they are very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I made a batch of these this morning, they are good! I also added 1/2 sugar, a little vanilla and extra flour, used whipping cream instead of half-and-half. I did not find them runny at all and they turned out like scones should look. I also brushed the tops with butter and sprinkled a little cane sugar on the tops. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States