Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
these were perfect - I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Musella-Fling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centereach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Its a fine recipe. I suggest just a bit of flavoring extract, like vanilla, almond or lemon. Then I would give it that 5th star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serenity

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
These scones were delicious! I did make a few changes. I didn't have fresh blueberries, I used frozen. I used french vanilla coffee creamer, instead of the half and half, added about 1/3 cup more flour and a little lemon zest. I also dusted the tops with white sugar and pressed it in with my finger. I had to bake them about 3-4 mins. longer than the recipe said, but the outcome was fantastic. Can't tell you how good they are...just try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Live Oak, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
The "dough" was very sticky and gooey but the scones turned out a little dry. I will probably put more butter in next time. These tasted fantastic and I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellyanah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This is really great. I lightened it up a bit by using 3 Tablespoons of butter and substituting buttermilk for the half-and half. When using buttermilk, I had to add 1/2 teaspoon baking soda and reduce the baking powder to 1 teaspoon. I also added 1/4 cup flour. Frozen blueberries should not be defrosted, if using. When mixing, I made a well in the center of the dry ingredients, poured in the liquid and gently stirred together from the edges of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Followed the recipe to the letter. Dough was VERY sticky...couldn't even knead it. They rose immensely high, and tasted very floury...I'm looking for another recipe! Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamms, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Not a good recipe they are very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I made a batch of these this morning, they are good! I also added 1/2 sugar, a little vanilla and extra flour, used whipping cream instead of half-and-half. I did not find them runny at all and they turned out like scones should look. I also brushed the tops with butter and sprinkled a little cane sugar on the tops. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
These were GREAT! As another reviewer mentioned, I don't understand why others are giving this recipe a bad rating either!!! I loved it! I shaped in the two circles and cut the slices and it was delicious. I made a powdered sugar glaze to go over the top. Some mentioned that they couldn't shape the dough, but it worked fine for me. It was a little sticky, but I just sprinkled some flour on it to help with that. Will definitely make again! My husband loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Gwin
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I added about 1/4 cup extra flour and 1/8 cup extra sugar and sprinkled sugar on top. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States