Blueberry-Sausage Breakfast Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Had a "best" family breakfast, but this has been voted the new favorite. Cut the recipe in half for 6 people and cooked in an 8 x 8 casserole. Should not have halved the sauce, as it was not enough by about 2 portions - we got 9 squares. Used fresh blueberries. Used pam to grease the dish and used lowfat plain yogurt for half the sour cream amount, as that is what we had on hand. Did not bother with the pecans and used Jimmy Dean's lowfat sausage. This is an excellent recipe and we will be having this again. Thank you, Peggy, for a recipe even hubby, who doesn't care for blueberries, enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
My family and I make this at least once a year (usually around Christmas) as a special treat everyone enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was absolutely wonderful...especially right out of the oven! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Cooks up quicker than many other recipes for blueberry coffee cake and is a winner with or without the sausage. A hit with even my pickiest eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I made this for my husband on Father's Day and it was wonderful. The combination of sweet and a bit salty is delicious. I am looking forward to making this for future family events! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
So so so good. Made this for work and EVERYONE loved it! So many people requested the recipe that I just posted it on the bulletin board. Made it the night before & cooked it at 375 for 30 minutes then turned it down to 350 for another 15 minutes. Perfect! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This is something my mom has made for breakfast for quite a while now. I love this recipe, especially since it can be made ahead, refrigerated, and cooked the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
My husband and I feasted for days! Who would have thunk that sausage and blueberries would create such a delicious combination. We skipped the topping (who needs the extra calories) and kept it in the fridge. Lasted for 4 days until we devoured the last piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
My children are deeply resistant to new recipes, but they snarfed this down like ravening wolves. It was just as big a hit with the adult set. I think it would have been just great without the sauce, but the that was quite tasty, too. I realize that it sounds a little strange, but the sausage-blueberry-cake combination was ridiculously yummy. This one is going on a card on the first try - a rare thing at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I made this for our Easter breakfast at church and it was very well received! Everyone loved it and was talking about it. Leftovers re-heated in the microwave are also delish. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States