Blueberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
HELPFUL TIPS TO MAKE 5*: This is how I made this into a prize winning dessert on our military base! You can easily make 2 pies w/graham cracker crusts w/this recipe. The times I make two pies, I put the unused jello in a individual sized teddybear pan, so my toddlers can have a snack later w/o the fattening cream cheese mixture. They love it!! Anyway, I filled w/enough cream cheese topping to cover the bottom & sides of the pre-made crust. ...waited about 5-10 min. for the jello to cool from boiling (necessary), and then placed it on top until it reached the rim of the crust. Be sure you're still able to carry it to the fridge w/o the blueberry mixture spilling over ...making the crust look not as presentable (speaking from experience). lol The next morning, the texture was so nice, and there was a beautiful layer of cream cheese on the bottom. Plenty of extra that I put in a Tupperware for those piggy's in my family to add more on top if they wanted. I am always thrilled to show off this recipe, so thanks for the user who published it! People always say it's the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
My husband fell in love with this on Thanksgiving day. The only thing I did different was to use the drained pineapple juice plus enough water to equal two cups before boiling. I have had to make it twice since then. Will definitely become a family favorite. Thanks Robin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
This recipe is absolutely delicious and easy to make! It tastes like a blueberry cheesecake and has a surprise tang from the pineapple. Next time I make it, I’ll pour the fruit and gelatin mix into a couple of pre-baked graham cracker pie crusts. I definitely recommend reserving some of the blueberries to use for decorating the top of the dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I have this recipe in my collection. Mine calls for grape gelatin and a can of pineapple or pears crushed. I prefer pears. The recipe also includes 1/2 cup of chopped nuts added to the topping. Delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I,like others, put this on a graham cracker crust, but I also put the cream cheese on first with the blueberry on top. I didn't the first time I made it and the liquid blueberry mixture soaked into the crust. If you don't like how that looks you can always just spread a small layer of whipped topping over the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I've made this several times for various occasions and people love it! However, 2 boxes of Jello are not enough for a 9X13 pan. The version I got from my sister calls for 3 packages of GRAPE Jello with 3 cups of boiling water, a 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple and the same 21 oz. can of blueberry pie filling. For anyone who tried this and didn't care for it, try making it the way I described -- it tastes SO much better and the amounts are just right for a 9X13 pan and the same amounts of topping ingredients. Also, I use a clear, glass pan - I wouldn't recommend putting it in a metal pan as I'm sure this could affect the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I was searching for a dessert recipe that was gluten free, as I can not have it. By using a graham cracker crust the recipe is no longer gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I recommend making the jello portion the night before serving so it has plenty of time to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I have made this OODLES of times, always to rave reviews! I always keep the ingredients on hand, because it is so easy to whip up. I put it into two graham crusts, and use low-fat everything--it still comes out beautifully! I always put the blueberry stuff in the bottom and I have never had trouble with a soggy crust. Thanks Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Who would have thought such a strange combination could taste so good! I followed a suggestion and used a graham cracker crust with the cream cheese layer first, then the gelatin. Looked and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States