Blueberry Ricotta Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I followed the directions exactly with exception to adding the lemon extract; I didn't have any, so I just left it out. This dessert is just delicious...not too sweet and very quick to put together. Only one other point to mention is that I used frozen blueberries (which I didn't thaw first) and as a result, the cake took about 65 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This recipe was superb! It was moist and delicious. The only changes I made were to use frozen blueberries and 1/2tsp of lemon juice since I didn't have any lemon extract. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This was wonderful I thought. Not too sweet, just perfect. My grandmother just loved it and she really doesn't even like blueberries. I used fresh blueberries! I didn't have lemon extract so I used lemon juice and doubled what it called for. I also tossed the blueberries in lemon juice before I added them to the mixture. Wonderful!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This was a great recipe idea for blueberry's, if you're tired of the muffins & pies. I used Splenda in place of all the sugar and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MeCookGood
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I don't know how other reviewers got results that they describe as "dry" and "bland". I made this today and it came out SO moist and tasty. I used orange extract since I didn't have lemon, and frozen berries. Love it. Will make it again. The two different layers are both delicious and it formed a yummy crust all around. It's just my husband and I so we have left overs we'll have for breakfast tomorrow for sure. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeCookGood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very good recipe to start with. I used raspberries as hubs does not like blueberries. Once I placed the bottom layer in, I arranged the raspberries over top evenly. While making the top layer, I combined everything in a large bowl, then used my immersion blender to 'whip' the batter to a smooth consistency, elminating the 'gritty' texture of the ricotta. End result, a nice, smooth, moist coffee cake type dessert. Absolutely perfect! I did double the lemon extract as per other reviewers saying it didn't taste lemony enough. Next time I will try it with butter in place of the shortening. I also used reduced fat ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I followed this recipe exactly and it was wonderful. A keeper for sure. Try it...you'll love it!!!!! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Great blueberry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
I'm not really a "baker," more of a "cooker," but this sounded good & simple enough. I followed the recipe exactly, but for some reason it didn't brown right on the top. It browned in one spot in the middle of the pan, and about an inch out all the way around the pan, but the rest of it kinda remained uncooked looking. We tasted the parts around the edges, that actually looked like it was the way it was suppose to be and it was ok. A little bland. I still have leftover blueberries, so now I'm going to try my luck with a Blueberry Buckle recipe that I found on this site. I'm crossing my fingers that my baking skills will improve with this next attempt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KaLola
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I was looking for something different to make with the rest of the blueberries I had in the fridge, and this recipe was great. I had to make a couple substitutions with what I had on hand. I used 1 tsp of lemon juice in place of the lemon extract and cottage cheese instead of ricotta. I used only 1 cup of blueberries and chopped up 1 banana. I forgot to put the blueberries on top of the first mixture and ended up just mixing the blueberries and banana in with the second mixture. I also used an 8x8 pan since I didn't have a 9x9 pan. I did bake it for 55 minutes and the top of it was very dark, but not at all burnt. This wasn't too sweet or too bland at all. It was perfect. I think next time, I will only use 1 beaten egg. I could taste more egg than the rest of the ingredients from the 2nd mix. I really enjoyed this recipe and it turned out great even with the substitutes I had to make. I will definately make this again. I may try this next time with other kinds of fruit like peaches, cherries or pineapple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaLola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States