Blueberry Ricotta Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
wow!!!!!! This is so good.....you won't b disappointed if you make it. First time I made it without the lemon extract since I didn't have it and it was still great! Just made it a second time, now with the lemon extract.....can't wait to taste it!!!! Thanks for this awesome recipe, my whole family loved it and it was gone in no time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Finally...exactly what I needed. Have been buying fresh sweet cherries like a madwoman. Even splurged on a cherry pitter (OXO, fabulous). Have made a couple muffin recipes and several batches of Cherry Compote for the freezer (David Leibovitz's recipe). Have been trying to find some sort of cake to use the cherries in (seems like they all use pie filling). Gave up on that and decided to find a recipe to use the last cup of ricotta cheese I had. Came across this recipe and thouht...why not try with fresh cherries. So I subbed chopped cherries for the blueberries and almond extract (1/4 tsp) for the lemon extract and for the vanilla (1/4 tsp). Just took it out of the oven and had a piece while still warm. It is heavenly. Glad I cut down on the almond extract in the bottom layer. Just right. The top did not brown evenly (as mentioned by another reviewer). I think that is just the way that combo of eggs and ricotta does. Well, off to get another piece! ;-)) then off to the store for more ricotta. I do have blueberries to use up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Five starsThis was so yummy and easy to put together. I did not use all the blueberries required. However, it turned out so nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Loved this one! Mom, brother and husband all loved it to. I did not have the lemon extract so I used juice instead. Used butter instead of shortening and frozen blueberries. Usually the first time I cook any of these recipes I don't change anything but this time I didn't have the correct stuff. Really good and better the next day. Thanks, it will be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Becker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I really liked it, I only had an 8x8 baking dish. So I had to let it bake almost 15-20 longer. Other than that it is a pleasant treat. It is a very pretty dessert. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefCharlette
Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Photo by mea
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I doubled the recipe ( 13x9 pan) & added a streusel top. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Easy, delicious and elegant. I've made it about 6 times now and it's great as is. I've been out of ricotta and substituted a mix of Greek yogurt & cream cheese--acceptable in a pinch. Dust squares with powdered sugar immediately prior to serving for extra appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
'Read lots of reviews & only changed one thing - one less egg with the ricotta. That's unusual for this girl. :) This was good. I'm not an "Ooooh, lemon!" or an "I hate lemon" person, but I had the extract & added the half teaspoon listed. It wasn't overpowering, but not so subtle as I thought it would be. It's so lemony that I think it should be in the name. If I make again, I'll reduce it or replace with vanilla. With the one egg with the ricotta, I'm thinking two would make it quite dry - the ricotta part. It's not creamy at all with just one. I've played with ricotta & eggs before. :D It isn't a "looker" for sure, but a little sifted confectionary sugar does wonders for this lessthanattractive dish - & a little more sweet doesn't make it too sweet either. Next day: Sprinkle w confectionary sugar just before serving or realize that overnight the sugar will disappear on the unbrowned surface & look like mold on the browned parts. :o 'Not caring for this one. It's not flavorless, just not so good - at least to this reviewer. It sounded so good. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This was a great way to use up some fresh organic blueberries- yummy! Cake is very moist and delicious. Love the way the ricotta settles in :) The only thing I changed was to use almond milk and it was perfect. Will make again for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
these weren't bad. Good to those who don't like really sweet foods
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States