Blueberry Ricotta Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I followed the directions exactly with exception to adding the lemon extract; I didn't have any, so I just left it out. This dessert is just delicious...not too sweet and very quick to put together. Only one other point to mention is that I used frozen blueberries (which I didn't thaw first) and as a result, the cake took about 65 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This recipe was superb! It was moist and delicious. The only changes I made were to use frozen blueberries and 1/2tsp of lemon juice since I didn't have any lemon extract. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This was wonderful I thought. Not too sweet, just perfect. My grandmother just loved it and she really doesn't even like blueberries. I used fresh blueberries! I didn't have lemon extract so I used lemon juice and doubled what it called for. I also tossed the blueberries in lemon juice before I added them to the mixture. Wonderful!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This was a great recipe idea for blueberry's, if you're tired of the muffins & pies. I used Splenda in place of all the sugar and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MeCookGood
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I don't know how other reviewers got results that they describe as "dry" and "bland". I made this today and it came out SO moist and tasty. I used orange extract since I didn't have lemon, and frozen berries. Love it. Will make it again. The two different layers are both delicious and it formed a yummy crust all around. It's just my husband and I so we have left overs we'll have for breakfast tomorrow for sure. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeCookGood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very good recipe to start with. I used raspberries as hubs does not like blueberries. Once I placed the bottom layer in, I arranged the raspberries over top evenly. While making the top layer, I combined everything in a large bowl, then used my immersion blender to 'whip' the batter to a smooth consistency, elminating the 'gritty' texture of the ricotta. End result, a nice, smooth, moist coffee cake type dessert. Absolutely perfect! I did double the lemon extract as per other reviewers saying it didn't taste lemony enough. Next time I will try it with butter in place of the shortening. I also used reduced fat ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I followed this recipe exactly and it was wonderful. A keeper for sure. Try it...you'll love it!!!!! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Great blueberry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
I'm not really a "baker," more of a "cooker," but this sounded good & simple enough. I followed the recipe exactly, but for some reason it didn't brown right on the top. It browned in one spot in the middle of the pan, and about an inch out all the way around the pan, but the rest of it kinda remained uncooked looking. We tasted the parts around the edges, that actually looked like it was the way it was suppose to be and it was ok. A little bland. I still have leftover blueberries, so now I'm going to try my luck with a Blueberry Buckle recipe that I found on this site. I'm crossing my fingers that my baking skills will improve with this next attempt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I used butter in place of the shortening and part skim ricotta. I misread the recipe and used 1 1/2 cup of ricotta for the topping, but I kept the sugar as written and used 1/2 tsp of vanilla. I was concerned the top would be too crisp so I turned the oven down to 325 and covered the pan with foil for the last 20 minutes. We liked the flavors, found it moist and light, reminiscent of Italian cheesecake. I can see lots of possibiliries with the base recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States