Blueberry Ricotta Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I used butter instead of shortening, vanilla instead of lemon, and nectarines instead of blueberries. My family loved it, I hated it. Certainly nothing even remotely "cheesecake" about it which was a letdown for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kle_sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Lovely moist dessert except I will not use lemon flavoring - lots of lemon zest instead. One reviewer substituted wholewheat flour - in something like this that is not a good idea because this flour is drying to start with. Every now and then it is okay to be a little sinful and this is one time it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very good recipe to start with. I used raspberries as hubs does not like blueberries. Once I placed the bottom layer in, I arranged the raspberries over top evenly. While making the top layer, I combined everything in a large bowl, then used my immersion blender to 'whip' the batter to a smooth consistency, elminating the 'gritty' texture of the ricotta. End result, a nice, smooth, moist coffee cake type dessert. Absolutely perfect! I did double the lemon extract as per other reviewers saying it didn't taste lemony enough. Next time I will try it with butter in place of the shortening. I also used reduced fat ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
made exactly as written and this recipe was delicious. my husband said it was just the right mix of cake and custard (the ricotta-egg topper). use fresh grated lemon peel if you don't have lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Made with frozen organic blueberries. Followed exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I used rice milk just because we don't drink cow's milk, and fat-free ricotta because that's what we use. All else was the same. I was disappointed that I couldn't taste the lemon extract, but the coffee cake itself tasted sweet and creamy. I noticed the blueberries sank right to the bottom during cooking, even though the batter looked thick enough to hold them when I mixed it. Just FYI. Also, the ricotta mixture sunk down into the other layers as well, which was unexpected but tasty. THIS IS NOT A CHEESECAKE recipe, folks. Don't expect anything like a cheesecake and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
not bad. much like cheesecake but the ricotta texture was just a little strange for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muh-Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashay
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Since a few of the reviews said it might be dry - made a blueberry sauce to go w/it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Taste was great! The top later tasted custardy to me. It took a lot longer to cook then what I had expected. I had a hard time getting the middle done without burning the edges. It was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KaLola
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I was looking for something different to make with the rest of the blueberries I had in the fridge, and this recipe was great. I had to make a couple substitutions with what I had on hand. I used 1 tsp of lemon juice in place of the lemon extract and cottage cheese instead of ricotta. I used only 1 cup of blueberries and chopped up 1 banana. I forgot to put the blueberries on top of the first mixture and ended up just mixing the blueberries and banana in with the second mixture. I also used an 8x8 pan since I didn't have a 9x9 pan. I did bake it for 55 minutes and the top of it was very dark, but not at all burnt. This wasn't too sweet or too bland at all. It was perfect. I think next time, I will only use 1 beaten egg. I could taste more egg than the rest of the ingredients from the 2nd mix. I really enjoyed this recipe and it turned out great even with the substitutes I had to make. I will definately make this again. I may try this next time with other kinds of fruit like peaches, cherries or pineapple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaLola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States