Blueberry Ricotta Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I used butter in place of the shortening and part skim ricotta. I misread the recipe and used 1 1/2 cup of ricotta for the topping, but I kept the sugar as written and used 1/2 tsp of vanilla. I was concerned the top would be too crisp so I turned the oven down to 325 and covered the pan with foil for the last 20 minutes. We liked the flavors, found it moist and light, reminiscent of Italian cheesecake. I can see lots of possibiliries with the base recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I used butter instead of shortening, vanilla instead of lemon, and nectarines instead of blueberries. My family loved it, I hated it. Certainly nothing even remotely "cheesecake" about it which was a letdown for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kle_sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Willowdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Lovely moist dessert except I will not use lemon flavoring - lots of lemon zest instead. One reviewer substituted wholewheat flour - in something like this that is not a good idea because this flour is drying to start with. Every now and then it is okay to be a little sinful and this is one time it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Very good recipe to start with. I used raspberries as hubs does not like blueberries. Once I placed the bottom layer in, I arranged the raspberries over top evenly. While making the top layer, I combined everything in a large bowl, then used my immersion blender to 'whip' the batter to a smooth consistency, elminating the 'gritty' texture of the ricotta. End result, a nice, smooth, moist coffee cake type dessert. Absolutely perfect! I did double the lemon extract as per other reviewers saying it didn't taste lemony enough. Next time I will try it with butter in place of the shortening. I also used reduced fat ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
made exactly as written and this recipe was delicious. my husband said it was just the right mix of cake and custard (the ricotta-egg topper). use fresh grated lemon peel if you don't have lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Made with frozen organic blueberries. Followed exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I used rice milk just because we don't drink cow's milk, and fat-free ricotta because that's what we use. All else was the same. I was disappointed that I couldn't taste the lemon extract, but the coffee cake itself tasted sweet and creamy. I noticed the blueberries sank right to the bottom during cooking, even though the batter looked thick enough to hold them when I mixed it. Just FYI. Also, the ricotta mixture sunk down into the other layers as well, which was unexpected but tasty. THIS IS NOT A CHEESECAKE recipe, folks. Don't expect anything like a cheesecake and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
not bad. much like cheesecake but the ricotta texture was just a little strange for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Parus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashay
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Since a few of the reviews said it might be dry - made a blueberry sauce to go w/it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Taste was great! The top later tasted custardy to me. It took a lot longer to cook then what I had expected. I had a hard time getting the middle done without burning the edges. It was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States