Blueberry Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
These are VERY good with a few modifications (the only reason I can't give them 5 stars!). For the sugar, I mixed half brown and half white sugar to equal the 3/4 cup. I also used 1/2 whole wheat flour and half all purpose white flour, added 1/4 chopped walnuts and a few extra fresh blueberries (probably a full cup). My 5 year old daughter LOVED them, as did I. We will be making these again very soon, they are great for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I followed this recipe to the letter using thawed frozen blueberries and canned pumpkin. I baked only 8 muffins based upon the volume of batter. I could have made a dozen, but I prefer larger muffins. These turned out very well and were quick to make. I think you will be pleased too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Yesterday's jack-o-lantern is today's muffins. :-) DELICIOUS!! The best thing is, it doesn't use a full can of pumpkin, so I can make another batch right away. I also subbed 1/4 cup of brown sugar instead of all white and baked 25 minutes at 350 instead of 400. Also didn't bother to thaw the blueberries, but it worked fine. Moist, delectable and perfect post-Halloween breakfast or snack. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Great! I used 1/4 c whole wheat flour and 1/2 c all purpose and I used 2 tbsp butter and 2 tbsp unsweetened applesauce. The muffins came out very well and were enjoyed by adults and kids alike. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I thought these were great, as did my husband who doesn't like pumpkin and my 2-year old daughter ate 2 right away! I am always trying to reduce sugar and fat so I cut the sugar to 1/3 cup. I did not use milk but used 1/2 cup apple juice instead to add sweetness and make up for the reduced sugar. Then I used 2 TBS melted butter and 2TBS applesauce in place of the 1/4 cup butter. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla. They are very dense and delicious and great with coffee. I made a second batch right away using chopped prunes instead of blueberries because I didnt have any more. VERY TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is the new family favorite in our household! We call them "Blumkins!" I added flaxseed to them and put cream cheese frosting on top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very good... just wish there was a way to cut out some butter ;/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Konnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
3 4 11 Not bad, but not great. I changed the directions & it made them (look) less oaty (can hide them from the kids). It' sneaky, but it works! :D I let the oats & the milk soak for about an hour - till soft. Once they're soft, they disappear in the muffin. Subbed brown sugar for white & 1/4c whole wheat flour for 1/4c white flour. To help with the denseness, I added a half teaspoon baking soda. They could still be a bit lighter, but I wouldn't call them dense with the half teaspoon. I'm not a big nutmeg fan so I changed spices to: 1/2t cinnamon, 1/8t nutmeg & 1/8t allspice. The sweet potato (yeah, I subbed for pumpkin) & spice taste was soooo subtle. I truly could barely even taste the sweet potato & the spices, not at all. Not wanting a spice muffin, I would still at least do the spices half as much more, or even double. The flavor was provided by the blueberries. I added at least a cup. End comments (haha): A good for you muffin, but I think I'd rather have blueberry-oat muffins or pumpkin/sweet potato-oat muffins instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ana B.ee
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
These were fantastic! I did what some of the reviewers suggested, half and half brown/white sugar, and I used regular oats because I did not have quick cook on hand. I think they turned out better for it actually. I added almost a cup of blueberries instead of 3/4, and these baked perfectly in 20 mins. Great for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana B.ee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Great muffins for a brisk fall day! They were very sweet so I would recommend using less sugar. Super easy to make and deliciously fruity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States