Blueberry Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Mmm- deelish! Reminded me of cornbread. I also halved the sugar and they were definitely still sweet enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
3 4 11 Not bad, but not great. I changed the directions & it made them (look) less oaty (can hide them from the kids). It' sneaky, but it works! :D I let the oats & the milk soak for about an hour - till soft. Once they're soft, they disappear in the muffin. Subbed brown sugar for white & 1/4c whole wheat flour for 1/4c white flour. To help with the denseness, I added a half teaspoon baking soda. They could still be a bit lighter, but I wouldn't call them dense with the half teaspoon. I'm not a big nutmeg fan so I changed spices to: 1/2t cinnamon, 1/8t nutmeg & 1/8t allspice. The sweet potato (yeah, I subbed for pumpkin) & spice taste was soooo subtle. I truly could barely even taste the sweet potato & the spices, not at all. Not wanting a spice muffin, I would still at least do the spices half as much more, or even double. The flavor was provided by the blueberries. I added at least a cup. End comments (haha): A good for you muffin, but I think I'd rather have blueberry-oat muffins or pumpkin/sweet potato-oat muffins instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I changed things. Hate it when people aren't up front about that. Okay: Switched out flour for whole wheat flour and oats for 1 part ww flour, 1 part wheat germ, 1 part ground flax seed. Switched out sugar for honey and added a speck more baking powder to balance. These are AWESOME and DELICIOUS and my little boyfriend loved them. P.S. I have a new boyfriend!!! He's slim and really really short. Not fat and mean like the last one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOPEANN
Photo by frannypack
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Sooo moist and so good. I didn't have butter, but I had blackberry apple sauce on hand as a replacement. I actually think that's what made it taste so good b/c of the whole berry theme. Plus, it's healthier! I also replaced the nutmeg w/ pumpkin pie spice since I didn't have nutmeg on hand. Turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good! I replaced the butter with applesauce. Delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Used exact recipe but a little less salt, per someone's review, and we used frozen blueberries. With frozen berries, carefully mix in as the last ingredient just before putting batter into muffin pan. We used a "Texas-sized" muffin pan, and they came out well but only enough batter for 5 muffins. We enjoyed them with our afternoon tea. Would also be a great snack with a nice coffee or espresso. They were best when just out of the oven and still a little warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
tastey, but not all that pretty. didn't puff up but stayed pretty dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simply.tracyscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I think these muffins are awesome! They are perfect for Fall. I just got done baking them for tomorrow and they smelled so good I had to taste one...OMG! I did follow the advice of others and used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar to equal the 2/3 cup. I did know if it made them better or not because I haven't tried them with just the white sugar...but regardless-these are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
kinda bland and boring for the combo, but not bad..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cashews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States