Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
The flavor was great although it turned out a little runny. I used frozen blueberries. I should have rinsed them under running water then blotted them dry before tossing them with the dry ingredients. I will definitely try this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Changes to make to ensure the pie works well - which are actually a different recipe: 5 cups blueberries, 3 TBSP flour and 1/2 tsp cinnamon or 2tsp of grated lemon peel. Let is cool before cutting into it and there will be no problem with it setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
AWESOME! I baked it at 375 for 50 minutes in the middle rack, used 5 tablespoons as recommended by others. I even messed up by sprinkling the mixture overtop the blueberries instead of throughout; once i realized my error (it was already baked for the full time) i took a fork and kind of swooshed the powder mix through the liquid through the lattice and it turned out fine. It was runny until i cooled it and refrigerated it for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Taste more like an apple pie than a blueberry pie. I wouldn't put the cinnamon. But very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Wow! This was great and very easy to make. I had a ready made, unroll crust in the fridge, so used that. I also dripped about 10 drops of lemon juice across the fruit before adding the butter and lattice crust. I added extra cornstarch as others suggested, although I used 5 tablespoons of cornstarch. This worked well, making a thick gel that wasn't runny. I baked it on the rack one below the middle, on the pie ring and used the crust shield to protect the edge from burning. It baked with the dial at 400 (thermometer at 375) for 45 min, then I upped the dial to 425 for another 15 minutes, until the crust was browned and the filling started to bubble. Next time I'd try dial at 425 and check thru windo for bubbling (sound) and color at 40 minutes, then adjust for final baking. Delicious with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This recipe is a really good start to a great pie. Put the berries in a large bowl and sprinkle with orange juice, add 1/ 1/4 cups sugar, 5 tablespoons cornstarch and the salt and cinnamon. With a large spoon, carefully fold the berries until coated and then put them in the pie crust. My guests raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Well I really liked it but the crust was a tad burnt. It was alright though. the rest of the pie was just DIVINE! The blueberries were picked to perfection (by me)and it just a tad stinks that they didn't involve a crust recipe. So I had to look at my own crust recipe it was called "Mom's pie crust" wasn't that de-lish! Me and my folks just loved it! we MIGHT just try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Perfect as written, did not add extra cornstarch. Love the fact that it wasn't too sweet, made it compliment the vanilla ice cream. Will make again, as it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catherine Thompson
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This is a great pie! I also used five tablespoons of cornstarch, used hand picked berries, because they are in season, AND, added a touch of love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I made this yesterday with a few twists and it turned out awesome! Especially because it was my first ever completely scratch made pie! I followed everyone's recommendations and upped the cornstarch to 4 tbs and double the cinnamon too. I have always really enjoyed blueberries and dark chocolate together (why should strawberries have all the fun?) soI roughly chopped 4oz of 70% dark chocolate and folded it into the blueberry mixture. I let it sit overnight in the fridge after baking because the chocolate and blueberry juice looked like a hot soupy mess.Once, cooled, the chocolate helped hold all the filling together and the combination of the blueberry, cinnamon, and dark chocolate flavors was unexpectedly delicious and balanced! Give it a try sometime :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amelia Haynes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 978) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States