Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I used the pie recipe to make a dump cake! Excellent recipe! I will use it again!! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Taylor
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Used 5tbsp of cornstarch. Baked at 400F for 50 mins then at 425F for 20mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calcutta, West Bengal , India
Living In: West Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VhiaD
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This recipe was really good. I bought prepared puff pastry sheets for the pastry (due to limited time, and not having pie crust pastry available at Safeway), which unfortunately meant that the base wasn't as thick as one might like, but next time when I have more time, I'll try to make my own pie crust pastry using one of the recipes on this website. The filling is the most important part of this recipe though, and it is definitely a winner there! I added the juice from half a lemon and increased the cornstarch to 4 tablespoons. All other quantities remained the same. For a first timer, the latticing and crimping of the pie top was not too difficult. I also borrowed some tips from other reviewers for baking: wrapped aluminium foil around the crust edges to prevent burning and started baking at 400 F on the middle shelf for the first 15 minutes. Reduced to 375 F for the last 35 minutes, removing the foil in the last 10 minutes of baking to make the crusts more golden. Unfortunately even after cooling and refrigerating, the pie was hard to cut and it looked pretty messy. That could possibly be because I used puff pastry instead. Will have to amend this review when I try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VhiaD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Okay, in fairness, this pie did taste very good. I increased my berries to 5 c., increased my cornstarch to 4 1/2 Tb., used a dash of lemon juice instead of salt, added some nutmeg and it was STILL runny. I'm going to make it again this weekend with more cornstarch, leaving the rest of the things I did the same and we'll see. At this point, it's hardly my go-to blueberry pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jistanich

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I added a little bit of lemon juice to it, but I'm not sure it even needed it. It tasted fantastic and was a great consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
I incorporated the mods suggested by the other users and the pie turned out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Great pie, not overpoweringly sweet. I subbed previously frozen huckleberries that I picked last summer. I did thaw and drain, drain, drain the berries. I would imagine commercially frozen/purchased berries would have a bit less liquid. At any rate, other than subbing out a different berry, I added 4T cornstarch, based on other reviews. I will say that on Day 2, there was still some "ooze" into the pie plate after I dished up a slice. But on Day 3, it had set up perfectly and the liquid from the remaining pie didn't seep into the open space. Now I know that if I use 4T cornstarch, I should make my pie at least 2 days in advance to give it time to set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
OK, I have never rated a recipe before, but just had to on this one. It was sooooo good!!! Even my kids who aren't big "fruit pies fans" even with ice cream on top, LOVED this pie. I did make some alterations after reading the comments. I did 5 tbsp. of cornstarch and kept all the other ingredients the same. I did set the oven at 375, and cooked it the recommended 50min, and then checked. In all, it turned into 1hr 10min cooking time, and was perfect! Also, I did an egg wash on the crust to get it golden brown. But we will be making this one again!! It's a keeper! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Yes instead of using 3 tbsp of starch try using 1. Tbsp. Of corn starch and 2 tbsp of low sugar pectin to preserve the full flavor of the blueberries and not have the starchy flavor will still be juicy but make a firm pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
5 star recipie! I added 5 tbs of cornstarch, 2 tbs lemon juice, and baked it at 375 for an hour as another rather suggested and it came out perfect and was a hit at our family Sunday supper. Will definitely be a stable pie recipie for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,024) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States