Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This pie is very yummy! I would only changed a couple of things. I put 5 level Tablespoons of cornstarch instead of the 3 TBSP. I also added 2 TBSP of lemon juice. I would advise changing the oven temperature to 375 degrees because even after covering the edge of the crust it still got a little overdone on 425 degrees. I would also not cook it on the bottom rack, but the middle rack. Finally, wait at least 1 hour before cutting to let the cornstarch do its thing or you will end up with to much juice. FRESH BLUEBERRYS ARE THE TICKET!!! AGAIN, VERY YUMMY!!! (loved it with vanialla ice cream)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1940 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I'm giving this four stars because I had to tweak it some. I used 5 cups of blueberries, 6 tbsp of cornstarch and 1 1/4 c sugar, lowered the heat to 400 and it was perfect! The first one I made, I followed the recipe to a tee, except increased the cornstarch to 5 tbsp (per several other reviews) and baked at 425. It was very runny and it burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
I loved this pie recipe! It was super-easy to make, and it was delicious! After reading the other reviews, I put in 4 tbsp of cornstarch instead of 3 tbsp, and it set without a problem. Also, I added a splash of lemon juice to the blueberry mixture for some extra flavor, and I covered the edges of the pie crust with aluminum foil until the last 15 minutes (to prevent overbrowning). A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
701 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Perfect. We found that this is a tart-sweet pie with the juices gelled just enough not to run out of the pie IF you use a lattice crust and very small fresh blueberries. If you are making a solid top crust, or using cultivated "high bush berries", increase the cornstarch by 1 TBSP for each change. The 3/4 cup sugar can be increased to 1 cup for those who prefer a sweeter pie, but you'll need a bit more cornstarch since more sugar draws more juice out of the berries. I personally found the cooking time is accurate for a lattice top, but I had to lower the temp to 400 and increase the baking time to about 1 hour for a full top crust. Browning time on a crust varies widely. Crusts with more fat, or that use butter as some/all of the fat will brown more quickly than a crust with less fat or all shortening/oil. Be sure to try this pie with sharp cheddar cheese. There's a reason New Englanders eat pie for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
465 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
This is an excellant pie! I have made 5 since I got it. I have used fresh blueberries and frozen blueberries. They both work great. The one thing I did different was that I added 5 cups of blueberries because I used my deep dish pie baker from Pampered Chef. I also followed the advice to us 5 tbs. constarch. As an added tip for everyone, I used, "Basic Flaky Pie Crust" sumitted by Stephanie. A wonderful pie crust. Everyone loved it and said it was the best Blueberry pie they had ever eaten. Crust and all. Thank you Beth and Stephanie! The two of you make a winning combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
388 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
My husband said this was the best pie I'd ever made. I didn't have cornstarch, so I substituted 6 Tlbs. flour instead, and used a full cup of sugar. I used frozen blueberries, and a Walmart frozen deep dish pie crust. Delicious! Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I can't believe how incredibly easy it was to make this pie! I used fresh blueberries, a squeeze of lemon, and the flakey butter pie crust recipe. I agree with the recommendation for 4T cornstarch rather than 5T. The first time I made this, I used 5T and it came out a bit rubbery - 4T is perfect. I then brushed the top crust with milk, sprinkled sugar, and baked at 400F. To keep the edges from burning, I covered them with foil and removed for the last 15 min. The pie came out beautiful. I couldn't help myself and had a piece after just an hour of cooling, but it was still pretty runny. I had to let it sit an additional hour and it set perfectly. I already had 2 slices (one at 10 am), and I can't wait to polish off the rest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
mmmm, have made this twice already. Once with just blueberries, the second time i added blackberries and strawberries. Both were excellent. I followed other reviewers and used 5 tablespoons of cornstarch. I found it was too much and made the pie a bit rubbery. I would recommend using 4 tablespoons at the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I've been making this for a couple of years now- it always turns out great! I've always used frozen and love how easy it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
Fabulous pie! Yum! I ate the whole thing!!! (hubby doesn't like fruit) I used 4T cornstarch. It was the first time I tried to make a pie with a top crust so I ran into some technical difficulties. I burned the edges of the crust and didn't crimp the edges properly either. Filling ran out all over the oven floor. I recommend putting your pie plate on a cookie sheet and wrapping foil around the edges of the crust. I believe I baked it for 10 minutes less than what the recipe called for also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 938) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States