Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was the first pie I ever made from scratch, and it is the best blueberry pie my husband has every eaten, and being from Michigan he has eaten many a blueberry pies in his day. I took the advice of other reviews and added almost 5 cups of blueberries with equal parts cornstarch since I had a deep dish pyrex pie pan. I made a (flour, butter,sugar, 7-up) top crust, also my first time making that. The only thing I did differently was cooked the pie for 40 minutes with edges covered with foil and another 40 uncovered. I think the extra cooking time really let this pie set up. It held together as it should without being jelled together. This is definitely my blue berry pie go to recipe. I even used fresh picked then frozen blueberries in this pie, if you do the same, DO NOT thaw and rinse first. Use straight from frozen.Amazing if I could rate 10 stars I would
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
My changes: 5 tbsp. Of corn starch. Little over 1/2 cup sugar. 1 tbsp. Lemon juice. Bake lower level for 30 min. On 425. Cover crust. Middle rack at 375 for 30 min. Then 425 for 15 min.let cool completely. Also great as a mixed berry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Fantastic. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marnie_ray
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Blueberry Pie is my husband's favorite, however we do not eat many desserts. I made this for his birthday in 2010 and again in 2014. My first attempt looked beautiful, but was a little too 'juicy' - yet my second attempt was a home run. The first time I made this I used blueberries that had been previously frozen, the second time I used fresh blueberries (not frozen). I believe that was the difference in that the frozen blueberries had retained more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marnie_ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
5 stars because it is the right ratios for making a good fruit pie. I used frozen blueberries. The filling was a nice consistency - not to stiff but it wasn't runny that when you served it the filling flowed out. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This recipe asks for too high of a baking temp. My beautiful pastry which normally comes out flaky was very tough and overbaked by this method. The filling had nice flavour but was very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I made this for the first time and was disappointed.its runny even I fallowed the suggestion of 4 tbsp. cornstarch. then I tried it again.i made some changes. I used 5 cups of fresh blueberries, half a cup of brown sugar, 2 tablespoon of cornstarch and 3 tablespoon of all purposed flour.then I brush some beaten egg on top before bake in the middle rack of oven for 420 degrees for 20 minutes,then reduced to 350 and continue baking for 40-50 minutes.it turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loveline Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Berries didn't fill tin, didn't set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I have a freezer full of frozen blueberries, so I made a thick syrup of the sugar (plus an extra 1/2 cup added to 1 cup water)and cornstarch and cooked down on med heat until reduced by 1/2.Then turned off the heat and gently stirred the frozen berries into the syrup and let sit while I fixed the crust.I love the original recipe and it gave me great guidelines and an awesome homemade pie! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 990) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States