Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I have a freezer full of frozen blueberries, so I made a thick syrup of the sugar (plus an extra 1/2 cup added to 1 cup water)and cornstarch and cooked down on med heat until reduced by 1/2.Then turned off the heat and gently stirred the frozen berries into the syrup and let sit while I fixed the crust.I love the original recipe and it gave me great guidelines and an awesome homemade pie! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I already have a great butter recipe for pie dough, and just needed a recipe for the filling using the fresh blueberries we just picked. Turned out perfectly! Everyone wanted 2nds and 3rds. Good thing we picked 6 buckets worth of blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Sopt

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by jpm88
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
The pie turned out wonderful! Next time I need to make more dough because I ran out on top. Still tasted great! My first ever baking a pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Niki
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
So good. Best blueberry pie I've ever made. The touch of cinnamon was the crowning touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Best blueberry pie I've had! I increased the corn starch to 5 tablespoons and the consistency was perfect. I also added the juice from half a lemon. Other than that the recipe was perfect. I baked the bottom crust first to keep it from getting soggy and did a lattice top crust as directed. I also used an egg wash on top, sprinkled some sugar, and covered the edges of the crust throughout most of the cooking time. I also needed to place a piece of foil over the top about halfway through since it was getting a tad too brown a little early but it turned out perfect. I will definitely make this my go to recipe for blueberry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jimby1960
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made this pie just as written. Very tasty! If I make it again I might cut down or leave out the cinnamon. The only change I made was cutting back on the heat after the crust started to brown. It did not come out runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I just got back from Maine (basically the blueberry capital of the US, if not the world, and this pie beat every blueberry pie I had. I did what other people recommended - 5 TBSP of cornstarch, turn temp down, leave in oven for an hour. I also added a few TBSP of lemon juice before I added the cornstarch and sugar. magnificent pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Everyone raved about this pie. I used late season berries which were small. If they were plumper, I'd probably add more cornstarch. I highly recommend Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This recipe is perfect I also shared it with a few friends and they loved it as well! Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha Elliott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Great flavor but VERY wet. I used 4 tlbs of cornstarch, but probably should have used 8 tbls. Messy but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 982) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States