Blueberry Orange Bran Muffin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe. I had to make some alterations out of necessity. I didn't feel like driving across town for the oat and wheat bran... so I used All Bran cereal. I did double the recipe and they turned out great. I also substituted buttermilk for the sour cream & milk... which turns out to be essentially the same ingredient. I also added blueberries (fresh)... and did use the orange zest and juice (fresh)... DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Love this recipe. The blueberries were a bit over powering even though I used 2/3 cup so I substituted raspberries, huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I liked these muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I make these regularly, using the wheat bran leftover from sifting my freshly ground wheat. I use freshly ground white whole wheat flour (not sifted), and yogurt in place of the sour cream. Occasionally I need a little extra yogurt, since the WW flour is more dense, but they always turn out great! A full cup of blueberries is a bit too much for us -- 2/3 cup is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Fabulous healthy muffin! Moist, great texture and perfectly sweetend. I made a few adjustments ... used All-Bran cereal for the wheat bran (just let it soak longer)... and only had two measly tangerines for juice, so I added a heaping tablespoon on orange marmalade. Used apple butter for half of the oil to cut down on the fat. Great! Will definately make again. Even my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
These were the best bran muffins I've ever made. Soaking the bran in the sour cream & milk must have really moistened up the batter so they were not dry like all other bran muffins I have made. I did have to add about 1/4 or 1/3 c. of flour to thicken the batter up a little; otherwise it was more like pancake batter. That's probably because I had just washed and drained the blueberries so they were very wet. But my family is raving about these and wants more. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I only had oat bran so used full amount, they were moist and delicious! The orange is the real star of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
these are delicious. made it with applesauce instead of the oil, fat free sour cream and skim milk. it was perfect. you need to let it sit the 10 minutes so the brans absorb the liquid. will make again- may add mashed bananas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
a tad mushy but overall very good. Will definitely be making again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ian Garatt
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Perfect as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ian Garatt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States