Blueberry Oatmeal Chia Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
These were delicious; however I agree with other reviewers, in that, the measurements seem slightly off. I doubled the flour, reduced sugar by half & they still tasted great! If not for this, the recipe could easily be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Muffins didn't rise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shayda
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
these are really good- the chia seeds taste like poppy seeds and the hint of orange juice / applesauce makes it taste a little more unique than the avg blueberry muffin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Great! I followed reviewer's advice and soaked the chia in the OJ, use coconut oil and cut back on the amount of sugar, which I found makes the berries more flavorful since they're not buried in sugar. Next time I'm going to add walnuts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Very good flavor, just fell apart very easily. Could use a little more sweetness, too. But overall~ very healthy and tasty muffin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
We love this recipe! It is so yummy and my kids even ask for more. Sometimes I make this recipe mini muffins, which makes them a great bite size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OlliesMom
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
These are so delicious! I pre soaked the chia seeds, as suggested by others, and it worked great. I only had one cup of blueberries so I sprinkled them on top before the brown sugar/ cinnamon mixture. I would definitely make them again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OlliesMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This has become a favourite in our house of non-muffin-lovers. That said, I've healthed up the recipe substantially. To writ: no more sugar and cinnamon topping. Half the flour is spelt, half the oil is coconut, all the sugar is coconut sugar, and the applesauce is just grated apple. Yessiree, tasty goodness ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
What a fantastic muffin! I just bought a bag of chia seed at Costco and went on the internet to find recipes to use in them. I just made these muffins and they are great!. I did increase the flour to 1 1/2 cups, lowered the sugar to 3/4 cup as I was using homemade applesauce with sugar added. I also soaked the chia seeds in the orange juice as recommended. Thank you for your recipe. I will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FernAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I have made these a few times and found that this works best: 1. Add an extra cup of flour. I used regular flour once an oat flour once. Both were good. 2. Add an extra egg 3. Cut the sugar WAY down. I added none at all and while they tasted a little more "healthy" they were still sweet. 1/3 cup was a sweet muffin. 4. No need to soak the chia. If you feel you must, then you can make the batter as described and let it sit for 5-10 minutes. It will thicken up! I am pregnant and watching my carb intake but I LOVE bread so I have been experimenting. This makes a really healthy muffin! If you choose to use oatmeal + oatmeal flour (just grind some up) there are almost 4 grams of protein in each one of these (with the extra egg as well). I liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States